Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2005-04-19 - 11:10 a.m.

It's a State Holiday.



Before - After

Patriots Day is the best day in Boston.

This is a fact.

Why you might ask? It�s the best day in Boston because it just is what Boston is all about. The first thing to note is that it�s a State Holiday, which means that most people get it off. Now that might be enough right there. A random April Holiday? Sweet.

But to add to that we�ve got usually the first nice day in a while. It just happens that on that day the sun breaks out the clouds. It stops being like 40 degrees and you get a beautiful day.

Now add in that the Red Sox make their early 11:00 AM start, which I was lucky enough to have Shelly bring me too, after her friend waited 16 hours in line for tickets. The Red Sox are big here in case you didn�t know.

Then to add to that the entire city is full of people running the marathon. This was funny because lots of streets are blocked off, and lots of runners are around wearing these silver heat capturing things that help you after the run. Shelly was too funny as she put one of these on and walked around with it so that no one would ask us where we were going. After you run 26.4 miles, no one tells you to do anything. There are bare chested men in Ritz bars having a beer.

No shirt
No Shoes
Unless you just ran a marathon, No service.

Now the game started at 11:00, so of course we needed to drink before hand, so we headed to the Cask and Flagon, but it was full (at 9:00AM). So we went to another bar down the road a bit, and go some food (thank god) and beer.

Then we have great 3 row seats and were able to see Curt Shilling up close and personal. He heard me. I know he did. Also Shelly waved at Mike Timlin and he totally waved back at her and she melted like a big dork. I have always thought that both Curt and Timlin looked alike, and it�s funny because both their wives also raced.

There was also a very cute baby next to me. Now I don�t like babies, but there is something about one in this whole red sox jumper at the ball park that was very cute. Young baby too and she was kicking me a bit and liked to play with my watch and my Hawaiian shirt. Shelly was melting.

After Curt struck out ten, Manny went deep twice, and we beat the Jays � we left the area for another bar.

Shelly rolled her ankle on the walk so we had to grab a cab. She wanted to walk it off, but it would have been like 10 blocks and I think that wouldn�t have been good overall for her ankle. I am glad that we cabbed it. Taking a Cab is not often something you need to do in Boston.

We went to Flash�s, which, is one of the better bars I�ve been too in the sense that its never that crowded, it�s got a great drink selection, and its got very reasonably priced mixed drinks that are original and good. If you come to Boston, Flash�s might not be a place you want to come to, but if you live here you should defiantly check it out.

After that we wandered around for a bit and made our way to another bar. Shelly�s ankle was bad, but all the drinking helped. The next bar was okay. I�ve been there before but I wasn�t really in a margarita mood, and I was fading from being 1) Drunk 2) Tired 3) Hot.

But we were going to meet up with some friends, so we planned to do it, but after that bar Shelly�s ankle was really bad, so we hopped on a train and rode it back to my house.

After she slept a bit, with the ankle elevated, I think it was sprained or maybe a tender ligament at worst. She was able to drive home on it, and I went to bed after watching some 24.

The best part. It was a Monday. A really nice Monday with the sun and whole town full of people.

Who doesn�t love Patriots day! It brings people together!


before - After

16 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.