Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2005-04-14 - 9:05 a.m.

The First Rule of Train Club



Before - After

I am a machine.

I get up at the same time every morning. Leave the house at the same time every morning. Take the same number of steps, catch the exact same train, at the exact same car. I do this because it is both it is efficient and also because I do not value transit time below a certain number*

Anyway for the past four days I have recognized NO ONE on the train. This disturbs me.

I look at everyone on the train in the morning. It only makes sense that these people would have a similar schedule day to day. Not many people work 9 to 5 then 9:15 to 5:15 then 7:15 to 3:56 ...etc�.

So one would think that in a normal work within a four day span you would see one familiar face. Also people pick where they sit for specific reasons. Most people want to sit where it is easiest to 1) sit down or 2) near an exit when they get off the train.

This means that they would, when they take the train, they would normally take the same car.

Now of the cast of people that normally take the train there are about 20 regulars. There is the insanely European guy who wears leather boots, tight jeans, a euro top, looks French, and crosses his legs like a girl. There is the old woman who drags this cart with her lunch on it with her. Does she do picnics? Then there is the goth couple, and the asian woman who tries to cut you off and scamper on the train before you to get the best seat. Then the cross eyed lady, the guy who listens to rap way to loud, the extreamly overweight guy whose fingers are cubby. Listen. There are a lot of people.

But zip. None. Only me.

I am worried that I am taking the wrong train.

I don�t know what this means, but I have had to start memorizing new faces and hoping that they will at least be on the train tomorrow. Otherwise its possible I am getting on at the wrong stop and standing in the wrong car.

I haven�t ruled out the possibility of me being insane.

In fact, its my best answer at present.





*What I mean by this is that my commute is so short that it is actually a waste of time and nothing serious can get accomplished. On a longer trip I could perhaps read or maybe sort out a few issues that I might have been thinking about. But there is nothing significant that I can accomplish in 15 so the ideal is to minimize the 15 minutes.

before - After

14 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.