Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2004-09-21 - 2:41 p.m.

On Love



Before - After

What is it that we love about another person? Is it the parts or the package?

What I mean is when you are in love with someone, do you love the person themselves as a unique being, or do you love the actions and things that they do?

When you put together a car, no one truly loves the motor, or the gears, or the shifter of the car, but when they are together and the parts become a car, they love that combine unit.

But might they not love another car more, that has all those parts, plus a few more? Wouldn�t that be a better car? And now how about as the car gets older? The parts do the same thing, but the entire car starts to wear and does the love for it also fade until it is sold.

I have never named a car, like I know a lot of people do, but I had an attachment to mine.

But then there are times when I meet a person and I really like the things they do. People fall in love with singers not for who they are, but for the talent they have. You may love their talent, but is that like loving the person?

And if the car looses its engine is it still loveable?

If the man loses a part you loved about him, is he still loveable?

As we age, will the love people feel for us fade?

What do we love? Can we ever love a story or an idea as much as a person? Could we ever love a dream more than an action?

I feel that sometimes we are in love with an image that we create of someone. There is idea we have about someone and that idea is in fact the thing we love.

And sometimes I think people are in love with the relationship more than the person in the relationship. Some people just like the interplay between being boyfriend/girlfriend and the things that go along with that, and they aren�t really concerned about the person they are with.

And as we get old love has to change right? Otherwise �love at first site� would last forever, if love didn�t change. So does it get better like wine, or worse like beer?

What if I love all the parts and talents that someone has, but I don�t like them? Does that mean I don�t like the parts? Can a person really change the entire nature of those parts?

I struggle with the idea of what love is a lot, and as stupid as it might seem I really think it has to deal with the ability to understand what you are attracted to. If I think a girl is pretty, that isn�t something that I should fall in love with, because that is not permanent. If she is a great singer, the voice will fade.

I think it�s the person. Their fire to do the things they do. I think the core of a person does not change, and they are wholly who they are, despite anything else that happens. It�s a little like fate, but I think its more that if you are born left handed, you will always be left handed. That�s not really fate?

Is it?

If you want to know why I haven�t updated in a while check out My guide to Animals which I have been working on for a couple days now.

before - After

26 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.