Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2005-07-07 - 4:05 p.m.

Feminism, Men, and Women.



Before - After

The first problem I have with feminists is that they are offended by this sentence.

For the most part the feminists that I have known immediately go on their heels when ever the very topic is brought up, discussed, or criticized. Now, do I blame them? Not at all. Women have been disrespected in this WORLD since Adam and Eve. But with that statement, I ask for a little slack.

My second, and real, problem with Feminism is the degree to which it is often taken. I feel that the first principle of feminism is for equal and fair treatment so that women are treated with the respect that a person deserves.

What I often seen happening is feminist feeling bad for flirting with men, or feeling bad for wanting certain things in their lives that might not be powerful positions.

While I hardly beleive that all of them beleive this, I think that you will see a disproportional number of femianists that become anti-man. I don't really think that this is good for the movement.

Sexism is something that exists in our culture, but denying your feminity by trying to copy or become what powerful men have become isn't the best solution.

I feel that feminism sometimes focus on power over equality.

I feel that they should have the chance to do that, but I feel that often they feel pushed to enter a man's world, and thats not right.

I was reading a diary where a known feminist stated that she felt bad for flirting with a guy in order to get something she wanted. I ask you why? I feel that feminism should celebrate women, and part of women is their femininity.

I never want to forget the color of a person�s skin. I want to appreciate it. If there is an Indian friend I have, and I enter their house, I want them to have a culture and I don�t want to ignore it. An Indian is Indian, an Africa American is African American, and to ignore their culture and their appearance is ignoring a part about who they are.

I think we loose site of that idea sometimes. A person in a wheelchair needs ramps to get them into a building. Would it be right to ignore their wheelchair? To make them take the stairs like we do? (please I�m not saying being a woman or a minority is a handicap, its just an analogy)

I don�t think its right to deny a person�s culture, religion, or gender.

So to you feminist women out there, don�t think twice about going out and getting dressed up and having guys buy you drinks. Do it because you want to do it though. I think that women that want to be submissive in the bedroom, should be able to and not feel bad about it, if it�s what they want. There is no shame in it. Feminism is about getting to do what you want, wearing what you want, screwing who you want, and living the life you want to live without the influence of men.

Take a lesson from the homosexual communities. Is there a better parade than a gay parade? They do exactly what they want, and frankly, don�t give a shit. Yet I don�t find them up in my face or offensive about it either. I have a great deal of respect for the gay community.

So, I was going to continue with the idea of women and men and the bottom line, but I think this is all I have now. Guess we�ll wait until Friday.

before - After

9 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.