Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2005-07-06 - 3:14 p.m.

Discussing the Movies



Before - After

I�m miffed.

In 1994 Billy Bob Thorton made a movie called �Some Folks call it a Sling Blade. � with Molly Ringwald. You might remember this because he played a retarded killer who is released from jail and kills someone.

It won a ton of awards. You didn�t see this movie.

Awards (for SOME FOLKS CALL IT A SLING BLADE)
Aspen Shortsfest (Best Short Film, George Hickenlooper) - 1994 - Winner
San Sebastian Film Festival - 1994 - First Place
Aspect Short Film Festival - 1994 - First Place
Vila Do Conde Festival, Portugal (Fiction Prize) - 1994 - Winner
USA Film Festival, Dallas (Jury Prize) - 1994 - Winner
Chicago International Film Festival (Certificate of Merit) - 1994 � Winner

You didn�t see this movie because it was remade by Billy Bob Thornton in 1996, 2 years later, and called �Sling Blade.�

This is the movie that won an Oscar.

Color me annoyed.

Annoyed at the fact that Billy Bob made a good movie, and then 2 years later remade it with FILLER! Listen the first movie was 45 minutes and it was a best film. Then, two years later, its two and half hours long and the same damn story!

Both movies end the same way. If the first was good�why was the second needed? Marketability is all.

Both movies were good not because the plot was that interesting. What was interesting was that he killed people that we didn�t like. But it left us with the question, �does not liking someone who is awful, mean killing them is okay?� Did we need two movies for that?

And incidentally, when is it okay to give away the end of a movie? Like, I was sitting in a restaurant the other day, and these kids just start talking about war of the worlds and what happens and the ending. Now I know the ending to the original versions, but I want to see this version. I didn�t appreciate it.

But at the same time, if someone told me how Terminator 2 ended, and I had never seen it, I wouldn�t feel so bad. It�s been long enough.

And to people who say that �you should never discuss the ending of a movie,� shut up. It happens. Rosebud is a sled, the shark dies, he is the one, Vader is his father, and King Kong beats Godzilla. (Incidentally, I just cannot believe an ape could defeat a nuclear fire breathing lizard.)

I say one year after the DVD was released.

Now, there is the asshole rule, where if someone says �I really want to see �The Girl Next Door,� and I go on to ruin the plot twists�that�s ass.

But if I am talking about how Nemo dies of the ick that he got from being in a human tank, and you get pissed cause you missed Finding Nemo, or �its coming on my netflicks� well too bad.

You can die of the ick.

before - After

13 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.