Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2004-12-07 - 9:52 a.m.

A Entry about office politics.



Before - After

If famous names are misspelled its cause I am not interested in being googled for them

I like it when people cut out comics and hang then up on their cubicles. I personally don�t do it.

I like it because it lets me know something about them, and about their humor, and about what they think is funny. There is an extremely politically oriented lady who I work with. She is younger, but is so into politics it really makes me wonder what else she thinks about. I really haven�t discovered it yet. I think its 100% politics.

She hates anything conservative. She hates anybody with those views. She would never be friends or date anyone with any sort of republican track record.

He three most attractive people on the planet are Billl Cllinton, Jimmmy Cartter, and Tonny Bllaire.

She puts up political cartoons that aren�t even funny. Not that I am the end all know all about funny or politics, but I think that its pretty clear when something isn�t funny.

I have seen some of the comics from the same site that actually ARE funny, but the ones she likes are probably the least funny ones going.

But she kinda lives in a cloistered world where if she saw a �Busch/Sheney 04� sticker (spelled correctly) she�d probably think it�s a satirical joke.

I think my overall sentiment is with most things in politics I have a hard time understanding why people find it so interesting. I have been called many names over this most of them being a direct insult to my intelligence.

I have ultimately concluded that politics is a way to discuss ideas. Much like Sports politics can appeal to a lot of people, and you can choose a clear side, and then debate ideas. And, because its an idea and not �why do you wear blue shirts so much� most people don�t take it personally.

But sometimes the conversations get very personal particularly with the more fervent of the political debaters. They begin to attack things you might not have wanted to get into, in particular, religion. And the more fervent know more about it in the first place, so usually they make the conversation from a debate into something personal, and something which you haven�t thought about enough. They challenge what you believe and that�s what they were trying to do.

But in the end, people believe what they believe. Most people have beliefs very similar to their parents. You usually can�t change who you are.

Now I am an anti-conflict sort of person, for better or worse, and so even writing this is challenging. I remember making a statement once that �I just don�t think politics are that interesting� which was countered with �That�s because you don�t understand them.�

That might be true. But it still hurts to hear that opinion put forth.

Anyway, I think you can tell so much from a person from what they put up. I had a professor who used to put up comics from the Far side. I think we all have professors that put up comics from the Far side. But its just interesting because the Far side not always funny, and so I love it when one is up, and you can tell someone gave it to the professor because it mentions economics.

It doesn�t have to be funny in the least. If it mentions economics, you professor will put it up outside his office to seem professional, yet accessible.

What I have decided to do, and I wish I had done at college, is replace these comics with different comics.

I have put up three comics for liberal girl now, and she hasn�t noticed. It�s been about two weeks.

They are completely against what she believes in too. Like, if she read them, I doubt she would find it funny. She shouldn�t. I choose awful comics, like ask Shag, and Tarzan, and Cathy. And those really bad ones that have like 3 more weeks until they are removed to give more space to Dilbert.

These are the cartoons I am putting up.

I didn�t remove the other ones; I just put new ones up.

I have done this to other people as well. I am realizing now, that it�s weird and not funny.

Which is weird, and thus funny. Well, maybe, in the Mission impossible theme was playing as I skulk around putting up weird comics.

**************************

Anyway, I rewrote this entry in like 15 different ways. I started it yesterday, and it sucked, and I changed it, and it sucked, and then I posted this, and it sucks.

I am going in tomorrow to have my broken bone re-evaluated.

Wish me luck.

before - After

14 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.