Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-07-03 - 3:55 p.m.

What to do when worlds Collide?



Before - After

This entry could become my most offensive or funniest and most insightful entries. But mostly likely it will be a piece of crap. Here Goes:

When you become a parent and have kids a few things happen. Mostly the general sentiment is that you want to look out for your kids and make sure they grow up happy, healthy, and safe. Now some sickos torture and beat their kids, but usually I feel that parents want to give their children happiness.

Now there is a double standard. Girls are raised differently than boys; it�s a fact.

Most experts in the area find that the mother/daughter combination is argumentative, and the father/daughter is the soft loving relationship.

The Father/son relationship is usually heated and argumentative, while the Mother/son is usually caring and nurturing.

Everyone is different but this is regarded as the standard case.

I don�t care who my children grow up to be, as long as they are what they want to be, while respecting other people. Thus they can be gay, black, sassy, blue collar, hippy, republican, whatever, as long as they are respectful to other people and their family. I just think respect is a part of living in a society.

Now an argument spawned off by my friends Trout and Sam got me to thinking. As background they are really competitive about most things, and have been this way since birth. This argument was done in a joking way, so don�t think that they are really serious.

Their argument was that when they grow up and have families, Trout was hoping that he would have a son, and Sam would have a daughter. Then Trout wanted his son to �tag� Sam�s daughter.

Sam of course said that he would lock his daughter up in a tower and not allow any sort of Trout seed to impregnate the walls of his home.

After a long period of arguing. They decided that who ever had the son was in the better position. Because if the son slept with the daughter, then the son�s family came up the winner, and the daughter�s family came up the loser.

It�s a double standard but perceived as true.

Much like the notion that two girls kidding is sexy, while two guys kissing is gross.

So then later, while I was on my own, I began thinking. Hmmmm. If they both had gay children�of the same sex, who would win in that weird competition. That was interesting for awhile, but in the end it really didn�t have an answer. But it did bring up a more interesting question.

The questions is as follows:

Known Double Standards:

a) When your son has a relationship with a girl fathers have a feeling of pride, like �you go son,� and often will be attracted to the girlfriend that the son is dating.

b) When your daughter has a relationship with another boy a father feels angry and protective to this boy, and often has the desire to beat this boy up and protect the daughter.

c) Guys Kissing Guys is considered unsexy

d) Girls Kissing girls is considered sexy.

So I purpose a situation in which a father has a daughter who is a lesbian.

This daughter has a relationship with another girl. His daughter and her girlfriend are very attractive people. Very attractive. They being kissing in front of the father.

How does the father react?

A) He has pride and gets the feeling �go daughter� and feels an attraction towards the girlfriend?

B) He gets angry and has the desire to beat the girlfriend up and protect his little girl?

C) He thinks its gross?

D) He thinks its sexy? (ewwww)

I, frankly, don�t know how I would react. For example, I would not think that would think its gross, and I would be accepting of it. However, how could I possibly be expected to react given that information.

If it was flipped around the other way and it was you attractive son making out with an extreamly hot guy, how would you feel. Would you want to beat the boyfriend up? Would you think �you go son, go get that fine piece of man�!!!

I just think that it would be a very very confusing situation. Also slightly humorous.

I was just wondering what the community would think, since its comprised of all backgrounds of sexuality and gender.

I need some perspective!!!!

My guess, honestly. How I would feel? Well�I guess I will say this.

I think that I would cheer on the son, and be protective of the daughter. I really do. I could see me being proud of the son, but still being protective of the daughter. �

AHHH I don�t know!!!!

Somebody help me out here!!!

~Gump

(P.S. let me know if I am being offensive or shallow too)

before - After

6 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.