Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-07-03 - 12:00 p.m.

Dreams 5 Accelerated Culture



Before - After

We all live together in an apartment. It is like a frat house. We all went to the same college. Now we all work together and we live in this house by the local lake.

Sam has the biggest room, that somehow he managed to win in our internal room lottery. Kerbang has the littlest room, but it has the nicest view over the lake on the top floor. He puts his laptop into the little cubby window and just writes.

Trout and I have joining rooms, but we refuse to have the doors to be able to open. Trout puts a dresser in front of his end. Sometimes I sit there and scratch at the door, just to tip him over.

The extra room upstairs that has child wallpaper became Vikram�s room. He never decided to change the wallpaper, because he thinks its funny. I wonder what the girls that he brings home think?

Hinckley and Hillson share a converted dining room which is enormous on the first floor. They have turned into a replica classic Bunk Dorm living setting. Hinckley and Hillson have started smoking together and hide handles of Capt. Morgan under their beds.

Sam is the only one that they do this, and he doesn�t drink rum. Kerbang and I often wonder why they hide these handles. He thinks it�s out of shame.

I�m not so sure.

Its nice cause we are all smart, and because of that we can stay up late and talk about strange things like holes in outer space, or moral issues surrounding Christian values in government.

Often times on the weekend we will go out to the field and play either football or basketball, depending on the season. Some of the friends from our college are around too and we usually can get a good game going.

At night we play video games or watch TV. Trout cooks dinner for us most of the time, mostly because he�s the only one who can. I cook to blandly, Sam too healthy, John to late to eat it. Greg is able to whip up meals that we all can agree on. Plus I think he loves that he�s so nessary.

Him and Sam get into fight all the times, because Sam can�t wait for the food, so he makes a hokey sandwich to immediately satisfy his hunger. Then he can never finish Trout�s meals.

John makes some mean Mac and Cheese whenever Greg poops out on dinner. This is happening more and more often.

Vik hoards the Tabasco sauce. Hinckley and I do the dishes mostly. This is because I need to do something around the house, and Hinckley is always the last to finish.

When its sunny and nice out we all go into the lake for a swim, or sit on the porch and watch the world go by. Often we will talk.

We talk about things that only friends this close can talk about. None of us are married. I think we all decided that it would be too hard to give up this lifestyle. We have become each other�s family.

The birds chirp in the morning.

They wake me up, and I rub my eyes. I am in my room. I am very sad this morning, because I know that I was just dreaming.

7/1/03

And bang. I am up, showered, and out the door. I take the train into work. I husstle from work to the lobby. In the lobby they scan my bag, empty my pockets and run a metal detector over me. Jim does it. He does it everyday. I have never talked to Jim. Then it onto the elevator.

I don�t know�.If�.anyone �.. of �� you �.. have �.. ever �..been���to a ��.. government �.. building ��. But ��.. the��.. elevator��.is really�..really��really��slow�.*ding*

And I am on, and up to my floor off, and I race into work and sign my name, and try to avoid the boss. I head to my desk turn it on, fill up my water, talk about the estimates, get the estimates, run the program, answer the emails, answer the phone, call someone for their report, veryify information, and then I write an entry.

After the day is over, I do the same thing in reverse. Including emptying my water.

I get home and start to make dinner. Gonna keep it simple and just grille up chicken breast for both today and lunch tomorrow, turn on the game, call a friend, talk to Shelly, talk to Kerbang, invite him over, talk to Vik, invite him over. Set up the PS2, clean up a little.

My friends arrive.

I have a beer, and relax a little.

John and I being to play a video game that we are both very good at. We talk about starting a National Video Gaming League, as a scarf down dinner.

�We could have reaction camera�s and commentators. I would be great�

We go back to playing.

Vik and Datchery arrive.

We play for a awhile, round robin style. Soon Vik grows tired. He wants to head home and sleep, but hang out tomorrow.

I, sadly, inform him that I am too busy tomorrow, but will be available this weekend.

He, sadly informs me that he is going to Chicago for the weekend. And then working.

I am sad, but ask Kerbang to go to a movie with me. He wants to, but cannot, because he is busy as well.

He and Datchery leave. I am alone.

I call Sam, but he is busy in Pittsburgh. I don�t know Hillson�s number. Trout lives in Boston, but we haven�t heard from him since he got back. Hinckley is somewhere in California or Upstate New York. We haven�t kept in touch that well lately. I send out some unanswered emails

I turn off the computer and head for bed.

I am getting older. Time gives you years in exchange for change. I miss my friends, and it�s hard to know if we will be together again. I am hoping this summer, but its hard to say.

I feel very alone and I close my eyes.

I can feel the fan blowing cool air on my face, and it reminds me of a lakehouse I once dreamed of.

Sleep comes over me and my breathing slows.

I rest, dreaming of the days I will never experience.

before - After

1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.