Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2005-03-25 - 12:12 p.m.

A Few Memories of Unhappy Days



Before - After

I have had 3 cats and 2 dogs in my lifetime.

The first Dog�s name was Cleo. She was a beagle-golden retriever mix. We put her down when I was in 6th grade.

The Cat�s name was Gretta. She was declawed, and would bat you with her claws and still try to climb trees, but couldn�t, because she didn�t have claws. She would just hang there hugging the tree until she fell off. We put her down the same day as Cleo. It was back to back.

It wasn�t a happy day.

My next cat, who I named, was Whiskers. I was very young when I named her and she was a straight haired white cat. She died after we put Cleo and Gretta down, her lifetime companions. I remember that 6 month period before her death, she wasn�t a happy cat.

My cat cried out because she got paralyzed in her back legs, and she was trying crawl down the hallway to my room. She recovered from the paralysis, but then two weeks after the recovery my parents got me in school. I was in Mr. Harwoods� Social Studies class. They told me it happened again, and we went and put whiskers down. She was young, and I always believed she died of unhappiness.

Later I bought D.C. Darn Cat, from the movie I liked. I was still young and uncreative and my grandmother rejected my first name of �squeakers� telling me that it was stupid and for a mouse and not a cat. I loved D.C. probably the most and she was my cat for most of my adult life. Less than six months ago D.C. went into the woods and died. I looked for her, but I never found her, and she never came home.

Elliot died after he had a similar experience as Whiskers. That was very, very sad and one of the only times I can really remember my dad crying. He told me it was one of the hardest things he�s done.
It wasn�t a good day.

Tristian, Kerbang�s dog has died.

Lizzie, Vomiting Cod�s dog has died.

I was in a conversation with other friends and learned that their pets have died too.

There is something about getting older and realizing that all the pets from your childhood are dead? It makes you realize a little bit about where you are in you life. I don�t think that I am young anymore. The mistakes I make now count.

I think about my old pets alot still.

Finally to note, all my pets came from the same place. The Lowell Human Society.

There is something I always liked that we would take the animals no one wanted. Five different animals we were able to take. None of them were purebreds, and that was fine for me. I didn�t mind adopting.

before - After

14 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.