Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2004-02-26 - 3:05 p.m.

Persian Flaw



Before - After

Can you tell a green field�from a cold steel rail?

Do you think you can tell?

Did you exchange a walk on part in a war for the lead role in a cage?

Anniewaits18, Ready, Myself, Lisa, and Kerbang all play a role in the house, and an interesting thing is usually a person is characterized by their worst quality.

Because you best quality is typically generic, unless you are really good at something and even then�

Like do you think that Van Gogh�s friends called him �the really good painter� or �the dumbass who cut his ear off.�

My point is this: the people closest to you typically know you so well that your talents however large or small don�t really matter. Now I consider my friends, mostly, very intelligent, but rarely would I classify any of them as such. Take for example if I did.

Dingus would be the smart one.

Kerbang would be the smart one.

Hinckley would be the smart one.

Needles would be �. You get my point.

You have to narrow it down. Now once you grow up and have job titles, this is often how people get characterized.

Dingus is the philosopher

Kerbang is the artist/writier/filmkid

Hinckley is the Engineered

Needles is the Air Force Pilot.

But we grew up together and before we became anything, we fell into slots.

I was the sneaky one. This is mostly because my addictions to deception and ability to leave out facts from stories for no clear reason. Often times the facts left out wouldn�t even be left out to embellish the story, and in fact would have made the story better, but I leave them out.

And so on�

So I grew up knowing my close friends by their characteristics. And we knew each other for our worst abilities. Like I said before, no one was ever the really nice kid who was kind to people and got good grades. He would be the philanthropic nerd.

Thus Datchery getting the nickname �Harpy�. He harps on subjects, and thus I named him the �harpy� out of affection and truth.

We give each other labels for our worst qualities, and accept them.

Because at the core if you can be in a circle of friends who know your worst quality then you know that you have true friend because they see and accept the worst in you.

Now before we all break out the group hugs (soul) then I just want to say�I said all of this so I can bash my roommate (soul)

This may not be how you run things in life, but in Beantown, we care about your lowest comman denominator�the worst you are and what you default to.

Now I have written about the roommate before but this was an interesting story so I figured.

Anniewaits18 is the mean roommate. Her natural reaction to things is to insult them and to mock them or at least to try and make them suffer. She isn�t a disrespectful roommate, she is just mean. Her mouth will fit in well in Boston. When she gets really drunk (the most basic form of one�s personality) she usually swears and insults everyone around her.

Last night she was trying to combat this by telling us how dumb it was and how we were stupid for agreeing with it. Then once Kerbang proved her wrong (yet again) on something she announced that 1) She is not the mean roommate and 2) She would make it her goal over the next year to put Kerbang in his place and make him cry himself to sleep. Let not even talk about how she wanted to torture Ready when she wrote about him when she first moved here. It�s okay. She�s a torturer, and likes to be mean. We can accept that.

Her defense is a good offense.

Kerbang, well Kerbang is the cocky sassy roommate. He is a really good arguer, and usually only loses fights to Dingus due to the extensive mental Jui Jitsu Dingus has undergone in Grad school. Kerbang is a hard arguer. He will take a point, show you why its more right than yours, unpeel it like a banana in front of you showing you every reason it�s right, and then he takes the banana of rightness and feeds it to you slowly. He enjoys being right. He isn�t as smug as he is cocky. And he can trash talk. It�s pretty awesome.

Kevin and Lisa I have discussed before so I will spare you.

As for me, again, I am sure my counterparts can more accurately describe my worst qualities, but I will list a few just to be fair.

Smug � If I am winning, I will not rub it in your face. I will sit there and pretend like I don�t know whats going on, but sometimes you can see a smile�ever so slight that is worst 10,000 words. It�s a smile that pops up when you make a bad move in chess and will be in checkmate. It�s a smile that happens when something absolutely improbably turns out in my favor. My girlfriend says if our kids ever get that smile�she will shove them back inside. (yes inside)

Know-it-all: To the people who aren�t my friends, you will find that I can talk about almost any subject and I will talk about it with an air of superior knowledge. My ex-girlfriend called it cockiness, which sometimes it comes out as, but I am sure that it can be annoying.

Sneaky- I mentioned it before but I will do things to you just to remind you that I am part evil. I don�t believe in good or evil and I don�t play by the rules.

Greedy � Now I am going to be really honest here, so you can think less of me if you will, but I want to tell you how I feel. First off only children share so well. I am no exception to that sarcasm. In a lot of tests I have taken I have learned that I can objectify everything, as I consider nothing priceless, and nothing without value. I value the things I have very much and become territorial over the more irrational of objects from food, to money, to ideas. To illustrate, were I to win 100,000,000 dollars, I wouldn�t give a dime to charity (except for the tax deduction), and I certainly wouldn�t give ANY to my family outside of my parents.

These feelings, I think, stem from being an adopted only child who has had poor relations and impressions of all of his parents offspring. Sometimes I think that family is important and more of a burden.

I have said a little too much I think, because most people will understand this the same way that they understand why a wife goes back to the man beating her. It doesn�t make sense in their life.

I think my friends would describe me as generous at times, but also greedy. Kerbang also commented on it well indirectly: �You don�t care about doing anything that doesn�t directly benefit yourself,� and this is true.

That isn�t to say I don�t benefit from the happiness of my friends and family, but I am never generous for that sake of �doing the right thing� or for �the greater good� since I don�t believe in those things.

Now my friends know this and I make my boundaries very clear, at least I hope so, since I am not one to ever directly confront a person about an issue unless something can be done to solve it. My friends fuck with me, but it rarely gets to me. They have a high level of respect. Kerbang for example, I trust a lot because I know that he has a holistic sense of responsibility.

But I broke down once at this house I was sitting because they ate the wrong combination of food that I had rationed.

Something I shouldn�t get upset about I know.

But that is why it�s my flaw.

Someone who isn't from Boston "trying to make a diffrence." There is a reason I included this in my entry.

before - After

3 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.