Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2004-02-26 - 11:50 a.m.

The Mystery Of CHS



Before - After

The Year of my Junior High School Experience (junior year) there was a play being put on by the Academic Musical Theater Assemble (Theater Geeks) called the Mystery of Edwin Drood. Now, this play had an affect the lives of almost my friends.

You see, though not many of us were IN the play, the one show influenced us in a way we will never really understand.

First of all, the show is a wacky wacky murder mystery where Dickens (Charles) [yes THE Charles Dickens] died while writing. Well the death of the author never stopped Broadway and this production is written with multiple endings.

And the audience decides what ending to watch, depending on their enjoyment of the performance.

So first off, you need to know the show is a bitch because almost everyone has to rehearse a scene that they are never going to be able to perform. Also the stars interact with the audience and that, in of itself, is also a bitch.

And finally you just need to know there is a train.

So the show is pretty good, but like all things it more about the people. My friend Kerbang was in the show, though not in the biggest role of his life. He met a girl during this period who also was in my chemistry class.

A year younger than me this girl became elated when she learned that she had be cast in the role of Edwin Drood, which ironically isn�t the biggest role in the show. Nonetheless it was a huge part for her, and she was so excited to be a part of the show.

I am not saying that if this had never happened that her life would be different, but she soon there after began dating Kerbang, and they became not only best friends but they were each other�s first loves for almost 8 years now. Then after that she went on to pursue a career in Opera, which she has worked very hard to achieve.

And that wasn�t the only love that was in the air. About a month before that time I began dating a girl after breaking up with my ex, and she and I were quite happily involved. My friend Hi11son who was working as the shows producers began to spend a lot of time talking to a girl he was friend with in the pit. A band girl who played the flute. No, she never shoved it in her pu$$y.

I know why too. I dated her. So Hi11son and I had a fight that was totally stupid because he started dating this girl. I actually think we didn�t talk for like three months or something totally 90210 High School like that.

It�s pretty funny in retrospect, god I was in the wrong.

Ironically my roommate, Ready, who often worked the lights, didn�t for this show. At the time was also involved in the show and so was his first girlfriend Sarah who did work on the show as Hi11son�s assistance I believe. Now Ready and Sarah had been dating for over a year and a half, but for this period of time, Sarah was involved with something more than the show. And that theater romance would ultimately break her and Ready up. I forget who the kid was, but I bet Ready remembers.

However, Ready was also involved with one of the dancers, so he was more than okay. I mean a dancer� that�s a good gig.

Anyway, to continue the story I was supposed to go with my current girlfriend to the show, but my current girlfriend, who was friends with my old girl friend decided not to go. I think this was mostly due to the high tension involved. So I gave the tickets away to some kid (Craig Mckenzzie?)

But then in the end she went see it with her friends. So I went to see it with my friends�

Except Dingus was going with someone else, and everyone else I knew was in or working on the show.

Except for uncle pumpkin head.

So he and I went to the show; the night of the show�and we saw Hi11son who I was still on speaking terms with each other and he sold Uncle and I some of the last tickets and we were ushered to our seats.

The sets at out school were elaborate. We had a very intelligent stage crew working on them and they had put a lot of time and effort to transform the stage into 19th Century England. Or actually whenever it was suppose to take place�maybe early 20th.

Pumpkin and I were in the back. The way back. We got bad seats.

The sound was kinda bad, the people were kinda small, and the seats were made for middle schoolers.

But the show was pretty good.

There was one guy, who we later found out to be gay, who totally faired up his role as the gravedigger/undertaker. The problem was he didn�t do it on purpose so it was a little embarrassing to watch.

But there was someone else in the audience that night. Datchery. You see the detective in the musical trying to figure the murder mystery name is Dick Datchery. This made an impression on diaryland�s Datchery since for some reason�he kept it and used it in every internet names he�s used.

Of course it might have been for lack of creativity too; there was a story that when he need to come up with a last name he looked at a grocery bag and said �Hanniford� which in the Massachusetts supermarket chain.

But there I was. Uncle pumpkin head next to me when we heard the line�

I am talking �THE LINE�

�Looks like the Trains-a-comin�

And then it hit us. The brightest beam of radioactive light we had ever seen. We actually shrieked in pain as we were blinded by the light and tried to cover our eyes. We wiggled trying to escape from our undersized chairs.

The light was very direct, a very powerful lamp, and it was a fixed sex piece aimed right at our two cheap seats which no one else bought. Our shadows were burned into the back wall like some sort of scientific radio X-ray that shot through our body. We couldn�t see, but the light was aimed so perfect that no one else noticed.

Not to our left�Not to our right�.the people in front of us shushed us for our terrible immense pain that we felt.

I have heard of walking on sunshine�well we chocked on it.

And the mystery of Edwin Drood was for me and uncle� �where the fuck did that light come from�

So we didn�t see the second act, and instead cried in heaps on the floor like little women. But uncle and I were united that night. We were brought together. Mostly through a blinding violent light that would make Boy George�s Paint crack.

That was an epic show.

before - After

3 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.