Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2005-01-13 - 11:31 a.m.

Me Sta Ganz



Before - After

One of my favorite childhood memories was prank calling.

I know, it became clich� after the jerky boys, but frankly, I still enjoyed harassing people. My friend The Vomit Cod I think enjoyed it even more than I did.

Incidentally, we have been playing this game, and he continually threatens my life. Moving on.

We used to make the best prank calls. Now, we wouldn�t have a show with puppets, but let me tell you before the time of caller ID, prank calling was the best think since ice cream cones.

See I had two lines.

Dos.

And so I could call two people and conference call them. So If I wanted to talk to 2 different friends I could do that.

But even better, was the freestyle prank call.

Picture a Dominoes Pizza calling a rival Papa John�s Pizza. Okay. Now think about it. They both have a reason to stay on the phone because they need to get business. They both want to sell Pizza, and they both answer the phone the same way. Observe.

*simultaneously*

�Thank you for calling Dominoes/Papa John�s. Can I have your number?�
�Sir, can I have your number?�
�You just called my number.�
�No I didn�t. Would you like a pizza for take out or delivery�
�I�m going to need your number first�
�Why?�
�To confirm the order you place�
�I�m not placing an order!�
�Why did you call then?�
�I didn�t call�
�Listen, do you want a pizza or not�
�I want to deliver a pizza�
�To who�
�To you�
�I don�t want a pizza. We�re selling pizza�
�So are we�
�Why did you call!�
�I didn�t�
�Then why are we talking�
�Because you called�
�No I didn�t.�

And so on. Human Theater at its finest.

I would just sit there on mute and laugh and laugh.

A few interesting stories involved one where we called up two people at Meinkee�s and they knew each other�but like they were good friends and they started having a conversation and they hadn�t seen each other and they sounded really friendly.

It was a feel good moment.

Then once I had an ex girlfriend and an ex boyfriend call each other. That was a quick hangup and a bad idea.

We used to call this one girl who was really into being a vegetarian at the time, and harass her with local businesses.

The businesses were always the best though, because they picked up quick. Private homes would just ring and ring�and often the timing was all off.

I still remember the best one though was the receptionist at a beauty salon called �Mr. John�s�

The woman had this strange accent and was extremely sassy and had an unordinary amount of tolerance for prank calling abuse. I remember when we hooked her up with the Domino�s guy, she ordered a thousand pizzas because she thought it was fake. The Guy at dominos was stunned. �A thousand pizzas!?!? His voice cracked. I don�t know.� And she was like �Yea, with everything one them. Put it all.�

The kid thought she was serious. Could you imagine making 1,000 pizzas?! For Mister Johns? The would be eating pizza for years.

The voice was like a cross like a lispy Asian accent, but not that foreign. She spoke English well, but when she would pick up the phone she would say �Me-sta Ganz� very quickly instead of �Mr. John�s.�

She would do our dirty work for us, and it was fantastic.

I only wished, in retrospect, that we had picked up the other lines while say the pizza guys were there, and pretended to be from Uno�s or Papa Gino�s. That way the pizza guys would think 4 pizza companies were on the line, and we could yell at them, they could yell at us, we could yell at each other as friends.

Then we would all yell at the phone company.

I hate caller ID.

before - After

15 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.