Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2004-04-16 - 4:18 p.m.

Letters about Math



Before - After

Rumor has it I was smart.

This is simply not true. I was going through my old email and I went over something I used to be able to do with some ease, and now�

Nothing

Dear AA Students,

On the homework problem for Friday feel free to use the (so far unproven) fact that in a ring, (-a)b = a(-b)= -(ab).

Richard

1) Homework on Friday?! What kinda monster was I?

2)I know it might look simple but this problem with the subject was you can't use math to solve this equation. (Yes...I know what I said!)

Actually this email did stir up some thoughts. This was an email tough because in this class (abstract algebra) we had to go back and learn how to prove math.

We weren�t allowed to use �regular� math either. We had to use logic math.

This is where I proved that 1+1 doesn�t equal two, and so on.

Nevertheless, this was one of my favorite courses because the teacher was really really REALLY into the subject.

One time in class he was asked a very good question from one of the better students. He then replied, �Well, if that is true��

And then he paused

�But IS that true?!� he exclaimed.

And we were just slack jawed yokels because we were not ready to answer a question like that.

I want you to picture this man trotting back and forth talking to himself, sitting on the window running scenarios through his head, �well that would be true if�� and then he would write a few things on the board and stop.

�no no�that won�t work�

This continued for about 20 minutes when he ended sitting on the window, class in dead silence, his chin tucked into his chest in deep thought, when he looked up and exclaimed�

IT IS TRUE!!!

It is the closest I have ever been to someone who had a total revelation, and I can tell you this; this man was happy with himself. The class, the remaining five minutes continued in jubilation.

Also, I dug this up too, which amuses me.

Dear Mr. Gump,

We have received your application for the Economics Phd. program, however, the application is not complete. We have not received your official GRE Scores. Please contact the appropriate administrator to verify that this/these item(s) have been sent to the MIT Economics Department.

I will notify you when we have received the requested item(s)

Peter Hoagland

Admissions Assistant

Department of Economics

MIT

However he should have said

Dear Mr. Gump,

We received SOME of you application for the PhD program here at MIT, but we would like to advise you not to send the rest. We feel that the crap you sent us already is so shitty, that we will never admit you and give you money. Instead, please don�t send the rest of missing information, because we would rather give you a rejection based on not being complete, than a rejection based on your inferior performance.

Please for the love of god save the postage. Also, I won�t notify you of shit regardless of what you send. This will be our last correspondence, and thank yourself I am saving you. MIT is the nerd capital of the world and you just dodged a lifetime bullet of greasy hair and star wars T-shirts. I wish I could escape, but it�s too late for me Mr. Gump.

It�s too late for me.

Dr. Phil

Anybody Deypay

Econ Depo

MIT

Have a great weekend guys!

before - After

7 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.