Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2005-01-20 - 3:41 p.m.

Kicking Some Inanimate Ass



Before - After

There are times in your life when you feel like a man. Last night was a prime example of what a man is.

I came home, and I was taking a real estate course and I had to get to the real estate course in 30 minutes, if I didn�t I would have to repay to take the course in like 4 months. Regardless to say, I had to get there.

I rattle the handle to my door.

Locked�as usual. I keep money in my room, and frankly I don�t want to lose that money so I lock the door.

I feel around my bad and try to get my keys.

Now that morning, I was like, shit I forgot my watch, cause I mistook my watch for my keys.

And the spare key to my room had disappeared.

But I am not a fool, so I made a copy of my key in case this ever happened. Of course, I never took it off the ring of keys � so I am a fool.

But there I was, clock ticking, door locked, girlfriend coming over.

I went through the options.

1) Could I find a spare key? �No. I couldn�t. I tried, and have no idea where it disappeared to.

2) Could I pick the lock? � Last time I checked I picked one lock in my whole life and it was a complete accident. I didn�t even have anything to pick it with. Futile. No way was this happening.

3) Could I take the door off the hinges? It opens in. Not going to happen.

4) Could I get in via a window? --Even if I did have a ladder that could reach the second floor, I lock the windows.

5) Could I get in via the room below or above me? -- My room had hardwood floors so there was no way that I could break into my room from below. The ceiling was a drop ceiling and the room above me had plywood floors underneath the carpet squares. Now this was reasonable accept for two things. A) I would have to take up the dang floor, and I don�t think me and the roommate above are on good enough terms to do that. B) I would have to get to the floor ten feet down with a broken arm. This was out.

6) Could I kick out a panel of the door and undo the lock? � Yes. I could. One of my roommates did this upstairs and it worked out well for him. By that I mean, he got mad and kicked a hole in a door. I could do the same� But that�s expensive.

Just as I thought that my girlfriend walked in and can tell instantly from my face that something is wrong. I explain quickly and directly, �I locked my keys in the room. I don�t have a spare, unless we can find it.�

I asked her too look for it while I tried to jimmy the lock. She did for a minute, but you have to understand my face screamed panic. The lock wouldn�t budge, and the jimmying did nothing. My panic was not something she is either used to seeing or enjoys seeing.

She said, �I�m going to take a walk.� It was 5 degrees out.

I said, �Wait.�

Do you remember that scene in Sneakers when Robert Redford realizes the Doors code has been changed? He panics because he can�t get into the room, when �Mother� tells him on the other end the other way to open a door.

Well I remembered that scene and I wasn�t about to let me girlfriend walk around in the cold.

So elected to kick the door in.

There are a few things you should know about kicking a door in.

1) It makes shockingly little noise.
2) The door will swing back and re-lock if you don�t stop it.
3) It probably won�t relock because you busted the lock.
4) If you don�t hit directly ABOVE the door handle you may just kick a hole in the door. Aim for the spot directly above the handle.
5) Its not about how hard you hit, but the accuracy of where you hit. The harder you hit, the more damage done.
6) Make sure you have something cool to say once you have it opened.

I kicked it, and the door swung open, leaving a loose lock, and only a few wood chips on the ground. There was damage to the door but nothing that wasn�t repairable.

It was glorious.


�We�re in� I said to my girlfriend trying to slip out the back. She came around to her disbelief with a big old foot mark on the door when I made contact.

My girlfriend now knows that if she�s trapped in a burning building and I have to save her, but the door is locked�well� that�s no longer a problem. I�m a man who fears no door.

�We�re in� was so cool. I wasn�t a boy anymore. I felt like a man.

Because men are good at doing stupid things like locking keys in their rooms, but they are also good at kicking down doors.

I felt like a spy.

before - After

16 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.