Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2005-05-11 - 11:54 a.m.

Hoop It Up.



Before - After

The Vomiting Cod and I play basketball.

He�s better than I am all around. I mean he�s got more fire, a better shot, he�s a better rebounder, and he can drive. He�s also a better passer and a better defender.

So the point is that he�s better. Sometimes we play 1v1 and he will just crush me like 21 to 6. One time I was at 19 and he was at 2 or something ridiculous low and he came back and won.

Now, this makes it either sound like A) he�s really good or B) I really suck.

Neither is truly the case.

You see, he�s played since he was little and the first time I started shooting around was in 2001. But I have gotten better and what I have is �weird�.

I wasn�t classically trained, so instead I bring to the game a bunch of unorthodox shooting and strange shot selection. I�ve been accused of being the master of the impossible shot.

So sometimes when we play even, Cod and I, it�s usually due to a few strange ass shots that I hit fading away while falling down with a left hook.

He commented to an onlooker �You see the shit I have to put up with?�

_________________________________

The basketball court is typically divided up into two sides. The baller side, and the Kid�s table.

The Baller side is filled with rabid men draining shots and talking trash. These are people that will kill us in the game of basketball typically and are pretty intimidating to play against.

The other side of the court is typically kids shooting in a free for all manner with balls going everywhere saying things like �for three� or �downtown� and shooting balls at the same time. It�s just sad. This side is the kids table because its for the non ballers that aren�t good enough or are too young to play with the men.

Typically we eat at the Kids table.

Cod and I will play anyone. We�ve played old men, yesterday we played 16 year olds, we�ll play foreign French kids, and we�ve played mildly retarded people, and old Asian men. It doesn�t matter. We are not picky. We just play.

And we usually win. We play pretty well together and the only times I remember us losing were against a few kids where we were pathetic, and then earlier against this really quick old Asian man in jeans. It was a tad bit embarrassing.

But his hands were so quick.

Anyway. I know I�ve bored you with hoop talk but I will leave you with my favorite moment.


I was called over for a game of 2v2. It was me, a small quick young black kid, and then the junkyard dog who was this hardened old grizzly black guy who looked like he ate nails. So here is a little reverse discrimination at its finest.

The two black guys are the captains and the junkyard dog has to pick his partner. His choices are me. A nerdy lookin white dude, or a 5�6� Asian kid wearing baggy pants, and a flannel shirt, who has a BROKEN ARM ON HIS SHOOTING HAND.

Yes. The asian guy has a broken shooting hand. I still can�t get over this beyond the fact that I am like 5 inches taller than him.

So He looks at me. Looks at the Asian kid. Looks at me.

�I�ll take my man here,� and proceeds to give the Asian guy a high five.

Awesome.

I felt like the nerdy kid with glasses at gym class whose shorts look curiously similar to underwear.

Incidentally me and the quick kid killed them.

before - After

13 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.