Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2004-02-23 - 1:01 p.m.

May new forsaken's be forgot.



Before - After

Well I have decided to go back and look at how �it� all began. Of course, the �it� is this diary. So I took my first entry and I am going to talk about it and tell you what I think.

As you may have noticed I have been updating less, and there are several reasons for this, none of which I am going to get into.

My only problem, I feel, is both a decrease in quantity AND quality. Well I guess we will see.

So when I first discovered diaryland it was through my days of traversing the internet for strange and wonderful things. I found it. And I read a diary, sadly, which I can�t recall. I put diaryland on my favorite�s list and waited�a week went by, and then two weeks.

I finally opened it when I was really bored on the most evil of days, a Tuesday, right before work was ending. I signed up, and posted an entry that no one read.

I find that fact delicious.

Here we go�

4/8/03

I was concerned with the dating�until I realized it automatically dated it. That�s life. At least a part of life.

Interesting.

This is totally my true voice. That moment was really strange because it was me writing the word interesting, because I found this interesting, and then I thought the decision to write that word was interesting�I don�t expect anyone to understand, but then again, no one read this entry.

My first entry. I guess I should state what I hope to do.

Again, this is me to a �T�. That is, of course, exactly what I should do�but why would I say that? To tell the reader? Maybe. I find it particularly exciting that I didn�t talk about feelings in the least.

-catalog memories

My intention, and something I have fallen short of. I always wished that this was more of a collection of my direct experiences, more than of my abstract thoughts. But god, my diary would be as boring as church on Sunday if I did it that way.

-avoid cliche's

I have a tendency to write things like �don�t take a gift horse to water� or things like that. I wanted to avoid talking about things that are just plain and dull. I did that though, but I tried in an interesting way.

I think it�s just human nature. We are only interested in about 5 things total in our lives. I highly doubt that any of you could come up with more than five things you are really concerned about. Now you might pick things like �my mom, my dad, my friends� but that�s just one thing. You care about people.

I actually think that there are only three, but I am not bold enough to make that statement with any conviction.

-learn to spell

Failed that goal.

-avoid becoming melodramatic.

I will tell you a secrete. I spelled that wrong on purpose, and then went back and fixed it later. Isn�t that interesting? I regretted it.

Of course, I failed that goal as well because my diary is, at times, melodramatic. A little too much at points. Don�t worry. I plan to undo all that I have done.

-try to daily update

Well, minus the weekends�Close to 500 in a year. That�s more than 365, so I am happy.

-Influence someone; even if it me.

This was lame. Who am I going to influence�and with what. This is something that we as humans care about. We care about our effect on others�our personal ripple. AS you can see this mattered to me too.

What I hope to explore, occasionally, is why. Why did that matter to me? I think that�s an interesting question.

Today work is ending and that makes me happy. 15 minutes left. This time of day is like Christmas Eve.

Right now it�s lunchtime and I am sad. I feel like I have not done enough with this diary to make it worthwhile. I also know I get notes to cheer up, etc� but though that helps, it�s not the point.

The point is that I have so many memories, and so many stories that I can remember, but I can muster the strength, or the courage to expunge them.

I want to talk about things I see in others. I want to talk about the peculiar nature of the interactions of people and �.

Listen, I think things, and I see things, and then they tend to be right. But often it goes against what people believe.

What does that mean?

If I can explain something, and it�s right, but I am told the hypothesis is wrong�what does that mean?

I have been told my whole life that I see things differently. I have been told by my friends, parents, girlfriends, teachers, mentors, and strangers that I see the world differently. I arrive at the same point most the time, but no one can see how sometimes.

I am broken, but somehow the pieces fell together to create something unique. Or is that what I need to believe?

Ah. That�s the trick which sounds like madness. My frame of reference is too narrow to understand my own frame of reference.

It starts with me. It goes to you.

I don�t want to believe.

It�s too soon for me to say, but I don�t want to believe in this system anymore.

I sound crazy.

New goal

-- Don�t sound freaking crazy.



When I wrote my first entry I didn�t think about who would read it, except for myself. I thought about what I would think about myself when I would look back and read it. Would I like it? How would it make me feel? How would I react? Did I think that I would be cooler now or then? What if I was happier then? Would I still have the same blue template? Would anyone read? Would my friends care? If they read how could I be honest? How could I scare them away? How could I build my wall? How could I block them out? Careful gump�use another name�don�t say to much�don�t give too much away. Don�t say anything�you can thwart them�but you have to be careful. You have to understand them. Why are you writing this?

Why are you reading this?

before - After

21 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.