Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2004-03-01 - 2:48 p.m.

First Date



Before - After

Here is my first date with Shelly.

Now most times in life couples have cute stories where the first date went perfect, and the guy was charming and the things he did made the girl feel special.

Not me.

In my defense I didn�t even really know it was a date. I though we were just going out to have a good time watching a movie.

It was Freshman year of college and Shelley and I had been friends in the same orientation group. I found that she liked Kevin Spacy, and I had just seen LA Confidential, and I thought that she might actually want to see it too.

First thing you need to know is Shelly worked in a video store for 4 years and as a result hates movies due to the various idiots asking her about this and that. Second is that she hates movies because they were on all day, and finally she hates a certain time of movie that gets returned 30 minutes later 6 minutes into the movie.

Off we go. We went to the movies with Corey. Corey is a pretty foolish guy who never really got his head screwed on straight. He�s not a fuck up, or a drug dealing pimp man. He�s a guy who thinks the three most important things in life are (and I quote) �good grades, doing good in school, and god�

Ummm�

Not surprisingly after he graduated Corey had some identity problems, not to mention that I never really found out how �doing good in school� was any different than �good grades�.

We arrived at the movies. Corey got lost twice on the way there so we are a little late. This is my second time to this theater; the first being when I saw LA Confidential for the first time; which happened to be yesterday.

We get to the ticket counter, and I approach telling Shelly that I will get her ticket because we are short on time.

She, of course, thought this meant I was paying, since I paid.

She was a little shocked when I told her that she owed me 7.50. I made her pay the 50 cents.

This was so I could get popcorn, for myself.

In the theater I say in between her and Corey. I believe that Corey had a crush on Shelly, Shelly had crush on me, and me, well I was too busy eating popcorn. Corey kept trying to talk to Shelly through me, which Shelly wanted no part of. She was too into the popcorn eating, cheap ass jerk. (me)

I also did a few things that may been seen as annoying. First of all I just saw the movie, so I talked during it. Sometimes I even quoted it. That went over well�

My worst habit, which I still have is this: I would turn to Shelly, popcorn hanging off my face, butter all over my boyish man mitts and say: �Did ya see that?�

As if she missed the action on the 40 Foot Screen in front of us.

Corey would, of course, reply �No way, that was cool.�

Shelly groaned.

See I didn�t really know this was a date. I was just being awful.

Shelly later said that it was the worst time she had with a guy in a long time, because of the following reasons.

1) I made her pay (after she thought I was paying for her)

2) I was a slob

3) I ruined the movie by talking and quoting

4) I didn�t ask if she wanted any food

5) I didn�t pay attention to her.

And yet we made it.

I think there is a good reason too. See whenever I have a bad time out with her, she can�t say �you have changed from when I first met you.�

That�s true. I have changed, but not for the worse. That was the lowest moment of our relationship. So whenever she says anything like that I always come back with:

�Look at how much better I am now than the when we started dating!�

I was a monster the first year we dated, and now I am a prince.

Maybe this is why girls like jerky guys. If they change them, its all up from there, where as nice guys can only treat you worse.

Who knows. But as far as it goes; here is my funny for the day My fake review site

before - After

13 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.