Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2005-04-06 - 12:19 p.m.

The Dating Game: Part 1



Before - After

It�s strange.

What do you do when you suspect you are getting hit on?

This is my dilemma. Let�s say I was a dick. I would without a doubt say something to the effect of �even if I didn�t have a girlfriend I�d say no� to a girl. Something really mean.

I am not a dick; at least not all the time.

To do something like that is just mean and unfortunate. I think that people should be honest with how they feel towards others and flirting and talking shouldn�t be as hard as it is.

Whenever I do get hit on, I am surprised and shocked and honestly it�s really flattering. While this might not always be true, I have found that this is a much more difficult situation for a guy than for a girl.

Let�s look at the reason I am saying this.

If you are a girl and you get hit on randomly that means 1) The guy thinks your hot, or 2) The guy thinks your hot enough to have sex with, and thinks that its likely you will have sex with him.

And so truly, for girls, its both flattering and insulting to be hit on by a guy. I am generalizing, but I think that�s typically the case.

When a girl hits on a guy, I think often while they would want to have sex with you in the future, they are hitting on you because you have something they liked.

Now it might be that you have a cute butt. But I have found typically it�s because there is something about YOU, the guy, the way you carry yourself or talk or the way you do something that really draws someone in.

I like to call it charm.

Now compile that with the fact that ladies typically do not hit on men as often as the men hit on the ladies, and when you as a guy are hit on by a female, well, the truth is I just think it�s a very flattering thing. In my limited encounters with members of the fairer sex you�ve gotta wonder why she was interested in talking to �me�.

Why do girls respond so positively to some guys and so negatively to others? It�s really not as simple as it seems either. People may say that I am attractive or nice or something like that, but there are girls I pined over that didn�t give me the time of day, but were really attracted to friends of mine.

Hence I think I�m always flattered when someone expresses genuine interest in getting to know me.

But then the awful awkwardness rears its head and I am left to explain why the whole process was in vain.

But the thing is, if the girl came to talk to you, she liked you, for a reason and the reason still exists, and its sad that you will never be able to find out why.

So I guess my point is the whole dating game is awkward and sad, and in the end one person if left flattered and guilty and the other is alone and embarrassed.

Unless of course there is a match. But that�s a whole other story.

before - After

21 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.