Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2006-02-08 - 8:59 a.m.

Preach The Beech



Before - After

I was moving and the mover was telling me about the place he had in California, where he grew up.

This is what I know when people say that they are from California. 1) They will discuss health. This is because health and beauty is their Boston Red Sox. 2) They will say how nice the weather was out there. 3) They will talk about Pot.

No offense but almost everyone that I have met even for a moment in California will bring up these three subjects within 10 minutes of meeting them. Its a cultural thing and thats fine with me, but its funny how sweeping it is with the state. It might also be an age thing, but that has yet to be seen.

Anyway, he was telling me how �rad� it was back home. He also said my new place had good Fung Shway (Feng Shui). He also would say idioms of wisdom like �that�s a problem with the fridge, not the place man.�

In short, he was a nice kid. Fine mover, not harmful to the world in anyway. A spring rose. A summertime chicken...

But have to take issue...

I offered the movers a beverage. I gave them a couple choices. Coke, Water, Gatoraid, and Mt. Dew.

He immediately refused the mountain dew, stating that it had �yellow 5� in it. He then told me how �yellow 5� is destructive to the system and will kill you if you aren�t careful. He told me how that will complete destroy my immune system.

You would think I was offering him Grain Alcohol.

All the while he was smoking down three cigarettes and had the oder of pot on him, which I can assume came from an illegal drug dealer. He'd move three things, and then light up a cigerette and take a break to catch his breath.

Now, not to nitpick, but I�m trusting the FDA that "yellow 5" is safe since the ratio of lawsuits from "Yellow 5" deaths to Cigarette deaths is 0 to 143759387359. Let�s not even mention the drugs. I'm sure yellow five is much worse for your body than drugs.

He was coughing and hacking the whole time he was there. Good thing he didn�t have any �yellow 5� or he wouldn't be able to go to that "raging party" he was headed off to later that night.

I don�t care if people smoke. I don't care if you smoke pot. *Really* I don�t give a flying fuck! But get some perspective and keep the preaching to yourself. You are probably wrong. And you are going to just look stupid.

That goes for me too.




Update from Snoops

Yellow No. 5, also known as tartrazine, is an FD&C (i.e., approved for use in food, drugs, and cosmetics) coloring dye commonly used to give various foods (such as beverages, candy, and ice cream) a bright lemon yellow color. It has long been deemed safe by the Food and Drug Administration. It has also been in use since 1916, so if it were shrinking penises and testicles, we'd probably have heard something more than rumors about it by now. (The FDA's established acceptable daily intake [ADI] for tartrazine is 5.0 milligrams per kilogram of body weight per day, which is about .01 ounces for a 132-pound person.) Many other common food products contain Yellow No. 5 as well, so more than just Mountain Dew drinkers would notice the effect if it were real. (Soft drinks don't contain a significantly larger amount of Yellow No. 5 than other food products.)



before - After

17 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.