Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-09-08 - 1:29 p.m.

Love 6 Separation



Before - After

�I don�t think this is going to work out,� Kristen told me, �You just don�t know what I am going through?�

�Do you think that someone else will? Do you think someone else will try to take the time to care?�

We had met about seven years ago in a park in high school. She had asked me for a push on the tire because she couldn�t get it moving herself.

Ever since then she has told me that she needed me. That was until today.

�It�s not an issue if someone else will Michael. It�s an issue that you don�t.�

�It�s not because I don�t want to honey. I can�t read your mind. I want to help. My desire to help you is real.�

�Micheal, you never follow through. You just stand there and watch me cry sometimes. What is going through your head?�

I actually usually think about how fragile she looks, and I am scared to touch her. I don�t understand it, but she will just burst into tears and fall into a heap on the follow. She looks so helpless, and yet so broken.

When I was little, I broke the window when I was playing with a football in the house. I remember watching the glass splinter and break. Shards all over the living room floor, but I just stood there frozen. I was fixated on how sharp the glass looked when it was broken. I was afraid. I was terrfied it would cut me, so I just stood there.

�I don�t know what I was thinking, but I do know that it has nothing to do with how I feel for you. I just am not trained to handle everything that happens. It�s not like there is a book on this sort of thing Kristy.�

Kristen stepped back from me, which frightened me and put her hands up to her face. I don�t know what she is going to do but I don�t think it�s good.

�Aww Honey, I am sorry. I am just confused.�

�I am confused to, but that doesn�t give you the right to cut me down. You make me seem like I am a problem that you can fix. A problem that you can just figure out the best method to silence.�

But that is what I think. I think that relationships can be fixed. It�s just hard work. But I feel like she doesn�t want to be fixed. It�s like she is resisting my attempts to make her better. My calming influence, the one that worked before, no longer settle her. They only make her more hysterical.

�Come here and give me a hug�

�I don�t want a hug you oaf. I want a man. I want someone who can comfort me and me it. I want someone who can act not run away from danger and trouble.�

�I don�t run away! I am here now. I have never left you. I have never cheated on you. I could have but I never have!�

�What does that mean, �I could have!�?� she demanded, her eyes sucking back the tears leaving only a bitter anger in her eyes.

�I am just saying that I am a good partner. I am someone who is there for you when ever you need it. I want you to understand what choices I made.�

�When you say choice, you ass, it sounds like you mean sacrifice. Are you trying to make me guilty for everything YOU had to give up?! You think I have done everything that I have wanted to?�

She�s good. I did mean sacrifice. But isn�t that what choices are? Don�t we all give up something in order to do something else? I wasn�t trying to guilt her, but I was just trying to show her I wasn�t a weak man. I think I have only upset her more.

�I am not a feeble person Kristen. I have always stood on me own two feet.�

�This isn�t about you�

�Oh bullshit. You have been yelling at me this whole time about things I did. About things I say. About how I never react to things that happen. This certainly is about me!�

�It�s about us.�

She does these things just to walk me into traps like that. I take the bait everytime. I am such a sucker. I think that men are so easy to figure out, that we are complex. We want to minimize work and maximize fun. Is there more than that? I don�t think so?

�That�s what I meant. Us��

�Do you remember how we met Michael?�

�Yes I do. We met at that park. You were by yourself trying to get the swing to move.�

�That day is what is wrong with this whole relationship.�

I think back. All I can remember is us being young and falling in love. We didn�t have a care in the world. She just sat there as I spun her around. She squealed with delight at feeling even younger than we were then. I can�t think of anything that went wrong that day.

�Oh I can�t wait to hear this theory Kristy.�

�Don�t you see why we feel in love? I needed you, but you didn�t need me. You have never needed me. If I wasn�t there, you would have just kept on walking and had a wonderful day. If you weren�t there I would have just have sat in that swing and waited, because I was the one that was helpless Micheal. Not you. I am helpless. I am in love, and you just stick around.�

�Kristy, you have it all wrong. Love isn�t about need. I don�t love the air cause I need it to breathe. I love the sand cause I love the way it feels in my feet. That day isn�t what is wrong with us. We don�t need each other. You would have been fine without me.�

�No Mike, love is needing the other person.�

�Kristen, that is dependence. That makes for unhealthy relationships. Love is choosing to be with the other person. Love is choosing to stay when you could just as easily leave.�

before - After

9 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.