Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-06-20 - 2:46 p.m.

D.C. Homeless.



Before - After

I was on the RUN, for my conference, as the government tried to keep us in line. However between the BLS and the hotel I was at was two interesting occurrences with homeless people.

I work in a soup kitchen when I was younger, so the homeless neither frighten nor disgust me, unless of course they are crazy and really dirty or have a severe medical problem.

But in the summertime in D.C., being homeless ain�t a bad gig. Well, its awful really, but it ain�t as bad as Sascatuwan or some place in Canada (weather wise). When I was in Montreal during the winter, I could barely walk outside, but the homeless were still out braving the weather.

That�s the wrong way to put it. The homeless had no choice but to face the weather because they had no homes. One time when I was drunk I think I said something rude to one of them. Sorry Canada.

Anyway, these D.C. homeless were a wicked bunch. They were pretty creative and friendly. Like I passed one by and he was like, �Yo man, I understand.�

But after the first night running in the rain into the hotel, I heard some yelling behind me. This homeless lady wanted some money, and she was yelling my way.

She ran up on me, and she was a bigger lady, not to homeless like, because she seemed rather clean. Of course, it was raining, so maybe that had something to do with it.

Anyway she grabbed my arm and started the begging.

I told her that I was going to go inside, but she held onto my arm. Telling me she was pregnant, had AIDS, needed food.

I, of course, didn�t care about her exact story. Knowing she was homeless was enough. I decided to pull out my wallet and give her a dollar. I first instructed her to let go of me.

This homeless woman did, and I gave her one dollar. She then said, �You selfish prick, give me more.� At which point I grew angry, and actually tried to grab the dollar. She was too quick, or crazy, cause she nestled it away and scampered off. I dismissed the whole thing.

Were the situation reversed I might have done the same thing.

But then the next day on my way to work, around the same area I met Reggie.

Reggie was homeless and approached me by saying, �Hey man, whats up?�

�Well, I am on my way to work�

�Well man, I would love to switch places with you. You wanna hang out here, and I�ll go to your job.�

I smiled and said, �That�s a nice offer, but no, its alright, I rather enjoy it.�

�My names Reggie, welcome to my house,� He pointed out the alley between my hotel and the liquor store. He then reached out to shake my hand.

�Pleased to meet you Reggie,� I said as I shook his hand.

�Well sir, I gotz to tell ya. I have been living out here for sometime. Never got out of high school, and can�t really afford to live here in D.C.�

�Well that�s too bad, I really must be off now.� He walked with me.

�Oh I understand, can�t be late. You�ll end up here,� he gives me a weezy kinda crazy laugh, but its endearing. �Listen man, I know you doing your thing. How�s your trip going?�

Must have seen me come out the hotel, �Fine, Its going alright?�

�Well I was just looking to see if you could help me out a little. You know; anything you got. Well not anything. You can keep the 100�s for yourself. I mean that man, you don�t owe me nothing. The 100�s are all yours.�

I laughed at that, and gave him a little money. I didn�t really care what he used it for. Drugs; fine. Living on the street justifies drug use. Cause really; what facet of your life are you going to fuck up at that point. I hope Reggie had a good day. I did.

D.C. homeless were very nice for the most part. The surprising thing is that the worst and the best ones I met I gave money to.

I wonder if that means anything.

~Gump

before - After

3 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.