Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-07-09 - 12:21 p.m.

Clone 1



Before - After

On the train this morning I saw this girl talking to this guy. She was very pretty, but I was shocked for a second because I recognized her. See. This girl was a dead ringer for Sara; Sam�s girlfriend. They looked so much alike. The difference was that this girl was a little older and dirty blonde. I was amazed at how similar they looked.

Was it not for my shyness on the train I may have actually been like, �Sara?�

But I assess before I engage.

So then that got me to thinking, [that and other things], about my life and who I am. I am adopted. I may or may not have brothers and sisters. I may or may not be a twin. I may or may not know these people already.

Another friend in college was a an adopted twin, and never met his twin brother. This always disturbed me.

Its like if you had a clone. I always wondered what my clone and I would talk about. I would try and treat the clone as an equal and not as it superior. I think that I would have to think that since I was the original I was the best, however, he would probably think that he was genetically superior to me.

The problem with life right now is that critical decisions were made by me when I was 17, and those decisions were basically made by someone who I don�t agree with anymore. I wish I could have sent myself a note and told myself what to do.

That�s what I would do with my clone. I would give him a note, so when he got out of the cloning chamber he would have some idea about what was ahead.

Dear Clone,

I am unsure of your name, but I can only hope that its better than mine. I also hope its not something that can be made fun of easily. Kids can be so cruel.

Life can be cruel. You will be a strange person. You will learn to walk and talk at a young age, but then will revert back to being quite and crawling. I have always viewed this part of my life as my first attempt to recapture my innocence. My mother thinks its cause I had nothing to say.

In your younger years you will be small (that�s a lot of �y� words). Children will most likely pick on you. Don�t befriend older boys, because they don�t want you friendship, and will only torture you daily. At this age, and with your size, your best bet is to befriend a pack of girls. Don�t worry, despite your accused cooties, they will like you. Let them braid your hair, just don�t let them take pictures.

You younger years will be hell. You will be so small and most likely ignored by both teachers and students. You may feel the need to focus attention on you, but don�t. This will only result in discipline and unneeded grudges. In time, your patience will be vindicated.

I tell you to be patience because I know that it�s in you. This and your focus will be your greatest assets. Too many people demand instant satisfaction. This causes them to become unstable and unsatisfied. Time is on your side.

Don�t play little league. You will be an embarrassment to your team and your family. Stay at home and watch cartoons.

I started swimming at a young age. This will be something you are good at. Keep with it and don�t slack off.

Also when racing swim your hardest everytime. Don�t breathe much either because that will make you go faster. I usually visualized a shark chasing me and that I was under a sheet of ice. The fear of death usually speeds you up significantly.

Also never look back; they might be gaining on you.

There is a lesson in there. Don�t compare yourself to the other kids. In time things will change, and the decisions that have been made will play out. The patience you exude will lead to bigger things than having the tire swing at recess.

That isn�t to say that you should play, but make sure that you do what you want to, and don�t do things because others are doing it.

You will grow up fast and understand things quicker than most the other student. Fourth Grade was trouble. You got into a lot of trouble then, and change the outcome of your life. I know this sounds silly, but small mistake compound in the future. This is not to say that you can�t make mistakes, but challenge yourself, and do your work.

You will have a processing problem; a learning disability. You won�t hear words right, or read them correctly. You will rarely pronounce them or write them correctly either. You will be awful at spelling (don�t worry, computers will fix this for you). You will be awful at grammar. You will be left handed, unless you break your right arm.

You will be funny. You will be good at math. You will be good at remembering things. History and Geography will be a breeze. You can almost instantly remember any musical tune. Play the drums in the band. I chose the sax, and always had a longing for the drums. You will like their �primal rhythm.�

You will be allergic to the sun, and you will be unable to eat eggs. You palate will never develop properly and you will be a bland eater. For some reason you will not like your food to intermingle. Milk is not your friend, but drink soy milk instead. Try to develop a taste for it.

You will like girls. They will like you. This is something that you shouldn�t take for granted. Listen to them while you are young; they grow up faster and will give you a better perspective on where things are headed.

Stay away from monkey bars and ropes. You will have no upper body strength until later. Avoid the high rope in gym class at all costs. You will be mocked for your inability to climb.

Last but not least. The kids who are deemed cool in grammer school will not be cool later in life. Avoid them and the bullies at all costs. They will make bad decisions and those could negatively effect your life. Hook up with the smarter kids. You will remember what they say and they will make you smarter.

I will tell you more of what awaits you later, but until you turn 10, please refer only to this small insignificant note.

I will dream of you having a better life.

~Gumphood

before - After

4 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.