Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2005-12-30 - 12:18 p.m.

Cooking With Gump: Ten Tiny Tacos



Before - After

A few months ago I went to this chic restaurant in Cambridge called the Middlsex Lounge. They had some very interesting food from Kobe Burgers to this dish called �the ten tiny tacos� which were made with pulled pork, a taste of avocado, and a slice of jalepeno. I looked at them and thought �hot damn these are easy to make.�

First of all, lets not talk about the fact the meal was 12.95. Lets talk about the fact that it was simple and could be done better. Here is what I did to make �Gump�s Tiny Tacos�

This is what I needed � Bag of Scoops, Bag of Shredded Cheese, Peppers, Ground Beef, Taco Seasoning, and Salsa.

t1

Step 1: Layout the shells. Get rid of the broken ones with no sides. You might not think you need to do this, but you�re wrong. Also these are bite size so you can go through them quickly. Remember that. 8 is the ideal number for one person. 10 are a good appetizer for sharing.

t2

Step 2: Cut up the peppers. Being Christmas and all we went with the green and red which I think was a wise choice anyway. I prefer them raw over saut�ed, but you can mix them in with the ground beef as well.

t3

Step 3: Sautee the ground Beef. You won�t need as much as you think. Also, you can use turkey or pulled pork, or whatever meat you want here. For the vegans some tofu mixes in nicely here, but I would recommend adding in some seasoning of sorts.

As another note, I added taco seasoning to give the beef flavor. I also cut the beef up multiple times because you don�t want to have big chucks because it won�t fit into the shells.

t4

Step 4: Scoop the meat into the shells. Now, don�t worry about getting the meat cool, because its going into the oven�but also drain the fat, because that�s going to seep through the shells and taste terrible.

t5

Step 5: Put in the peppers. Make sure that you cut them small, and don�t push down on the shell because it will again, crack the shell.

t6

Step 6: I spooned on Salsa to the shells which gave it a nice flavor. Now chucky salsa is ideal for some because it had, well, chunks�.but mostly I like thinner types for the mild taste.

t7

Step 7: Cheese and lots of it. The cheese really makes the meal since almost everyone I know loves cheese. You can play around with the type of cheese too and make this a very spicy dish. Overall though try not to make as much of as mess as I did.

t9

Step 8: Bake them until the cheese melts, just as you would nachos.

t8

Step 9: Serve your delicious New Year�s Eve Party treats!

(resolutions after the first!)

before - After

25 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.