Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2006-01-23 - 3:38 p.m.

A whole bunch of thoughts



Before - After

Some Bullet-points.

1) So I mentioned that I hate music. That�s not true. I love music and I really respect it as an art form. I think that it�s an amazing medium of communication and it causes so many emotions in people that it will never be disliked or go away from our culture.

Same with beer.

The fact remains that while I find it a wonderful art form, I don�t respect it nearly as much as I do other sorts of art. I think that music is the sorta thing that anyone can have an opinion on and there is very little objectivity, which in turn makes it like the �cool hip anyone can do� art. Some people say �you are talking about pop music� which is true. But not just that -- let�s break it down.

Classical Music � Amazing music. But it�s not mainstream? Why? It�s not unpleasing to the ear. I think that�s its just old and dusty � but still I love classical, but prefer other music. This is the purest art you can get for music and thus the one you can truly be objective about. But you also have to know what you are talking about to criticize it.

I also had a theory that it wasn�t popular because it�s too long to keep the youth�s attention. I also have the theory is the 50% of a band is marketing. Yes. 50%. The band is the singers and the image and the �coolness� of liking the band.

Death Metal � Its just kinda outcast people that want to find each other. For this, its mostly a music scene. I lived with someone who was kinda in that scene and all her friends were edgy nice. Like they were nice people but wanted to be tough. But is there any high art in Death Metal? It�s amazing at capturing anger � but if observed objectively, its kinda silly.

Boy Bands � Art and Boy Bands? I think it�s interesting how they create the group and the music. That�s hard and interesting seeing so many people have failed despite trying. Remember that band on MTV that was artificially put together and people liked them somewhat. Even though they sucked. This is the reason I�ve never had a problem with American Idol. Why do people criticize that when the boy band thing/making the band happens all the time.

Also � Making the Band Three (part 2). You insult me Diddy.

Blues � Great Soul Music, and a good solid art. I don�t think anyone disrespects the Blues, even if they don�t care for it.

Country Music � South Style art?

Rap/HipHop � Is this a cultural art form?

Indy Music � The closest you will come to the art scene is the indy music scene. Lots of people looking for the new thing. They want to be the first to find it, and then once it gets big, it goes �pop� and gets trashed by the scene. This is why the indy scene is both fun (hot new bands) and stupid (the fresher and newer the better and more valuable).

2) Clap your Hands and say Naaaaaa

Upon this Tidal Wave of Young Blood is the worst song of the 21st Century. I�m basing this on the following facts. 1) Someone might think it was good. 2) Its getting so much airplay its ridiculous. 3) The story of this band.

I heard about this band in two ways. First one of the people I associate with outside of life was talking about a show they were doing with this band. Said they were hot. I kept hearing how hot they were. Didn�t hear their music. Then two of my good friends went to their show in New York and were very excited to see this fresh young band.

I love me some music. I love �whiny� music I have been told. I love a lot of the indy sounds. Keep that in mind.

So what happens. I am driving in the car and we are listening to the radio. Suddenly this song comes on. It drives me crazy. I end up declairing that I will never like whatever god awful band wrote that song because it is a horror show and disgusting to my ears. What band?

Clap your hands say Yeah.

Well, I pause. Shit. Maybe I missed something. Maybe I�m infantile in my music knowledge. Maybe this is like Nirvana�s �smells like teen spirit� where the music and voice are so new that it changes music. Am I missing the future of music? I think these things.

Then I hear it again. I give it a chance because now the song is associated with �fantastic new band�.

Nope. Its worse. The final part of that song has to be one of the worst ending to a song I�ve ever heard. Its 100% the fault of the lead singer too.

Here is my final grade of that song.

Music � A- The background music and beat are really good. Its what makes me think this is going to be a good song.
Lyrics � C+ They aren�t bad. The song is semi-poltical semi-generational and makes sense in a desprate cry sorta way. Plus the title is fantastic.
Singers Voice � F- I�ve never really been so physically upset by a song in a long time and this was before I knew what band it was. When he starts chanting �Young Blood� I wanted to drive my car into a tree. It�s a monosyllabic voice that is so tone irreverent that it would make Radiohead seem to have direction. In hell, there is this man saying Young Blood. There is nothing else I would need to make life worse. Let squirrels bury their winter nuts in my scrotum with fire any claws. Anything but �Young Blood�.

Just to make sure I knew what I was doing, I listened to other songs by the band thanks to Mr. Downloader. Same. Music � Great. Voice � something that would make Tom Waits Cringle.

This band, and I�m serious, would be better off with William Chung. (the American idol she bangs kid).

The problem, I imagine, is the lyrics and music are probably done by the lead singer. Because if it wasn�t, he would have been tossed out the door a long time ago.

If you would like to hear a wonderful story about how this band came to be, (not about the quality of the music) here is a good NPR story. I have the feeling however that this band will be nothing more than a hot buzz item that will soon be tossed into the dumpster of �so hot two years ago� bands.

3) GO! STEELERS!

Top Ten Reasons Why I will be Rooting for the Steelers coming up next Sunday.

10) I�ve been to Pittsburgh. This city needs a Championship. It�s begging for it. It�s not coming from the Pirates. And no one cares about hockey. This is the first year with no Patriots in the way. They have the freaking Seahawks.

9) The Seahawks have beaten NO BODY. The 5th Seed Panthers lost their third string running back (THIRD) and the Redskins are horrific. The Steelers beat the Colts, possibly the best team in the playoffs (before they played the games) and Denver (unbeaten at home.)

8) The Jerome Bettis Fumble. The last play of his carreer should have been a fumble. Now it�s gonna be a superbowl victory. If the Steelers win, he�ll retire and I�ll stop having to look at him.

7) Kelly works at a bar in Pittsburgh. That�s like working at a Goldmine during gold season. And baby, gold is always in season. Plus it would be nice to see someone who isn�t Me or Liz have a football team to clamor about.

6) It will just be that much sweeter when we go into Pittsburgh and beat them next year.

5) I love watching Matt Hasslebeck lose. During a Packer playoff game he won a coin toss and said �we want the ball and we�re gonna score�. He then through the game winning interception into the hand of the packers. Then last year he tossed the ball to his teammate in the endzone who dropped it. Hasslebeck had a fit on the field. I can�t wait for this last minute superbowl collapse.

4) Hines Ward is going to smile win or lose. Mine as well be a win.

3) Bill Cohwer is one of the best coaches in the NFL for �coaching looks.� The man not only is a dead ringer for Srgt. Slaughter, but also could double as the rock eater in the Never Ending Story. Maybe if he loses he�ll give the good big strong hands speech as he�s talking about letting the superbowl slip away. Wait�I want them to win. Check that. Maybe Mike Homlgren can win the award for �most similar looking coach who loss the previous year who isn�t the previous year coach.�

hadchoch

2) Because it would just be funny to think that Tommy Maddox contributed to a Superbowl Team.

1) It�s a great story to think that a number 6 wild card team could knock off both the first place and second place teams to go four games for the victory in the superbowl. This would be the single most impressive superbowl run from the wildcard we�ve seen. So from a pure football standpoint, I hope for a good close game with Pittsburgh coming out on top.

A Fair warning to the losing team. Would you like to know what happened to the team that lost the superbowl the year after?

Think Chernobyl. Eagles this year, Carolina two years ago (Didn�t make playoffs), The Raiders, and the Rams?

Final Note -- Dollman was a movie worth seeing. Its camp 90�s movie with more classic lines and moments in it than you�ll see in almost any movie. I�m linking it today because the plea on the user comments is �Come on�give Dollman a break� which is just comedy to me.

before - After

18 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.