Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2004-03-15 - 4:29 p.m.

Timely Sendoff



Before - After

Sometimes I don�t think people understand the signs.

When I say yeild sign, or stop sign, everyone thinks the same thing. But do they? The stop sign is uniform but what is the frame of refrence.

I think of this stop sign on Stedman street near my house... This is not the same stop sign you are thinking of...

This notion deals with the way we expect or think something should look.

When I say the work �cat� you think of something. Picture Cat. Picture �a� cat.

However, most people have a certain image in their head as to what exactly a �cat� is. But they aren�t the same.

So how do we know what an actual �cat� looks like. The one true cat. The purest form of catness?

We can�t really.

Just as when I say �music� you will think of something. Maybe it�s childhood moment in class. Maybe it�s an instrument you once tried to play. Maybe it�s a Cure cover. Maybe it�s the first rock show you went too. Maybe it�s a bust of Beethoven or Britney�s Bust�

But none of these things are �music�. Even the written script of music is not even music. The notes and clefs, and sharps�

There is a perfect measurement of �an inch� and that one measurement is the purest form of the �inch� It is one solid gold bar that is exactly an inch that all other measuring devices were made from (in America), but we leave so much room for imprecision.

What an inch is to me, maybe different for you.

What is music to me is different to you.

And my cat is not yours.

But the human mind can�t really accept things like that. We can�t think in negatives.

Picture �not an bike�

Think of �the opposite of tree�

Try to hear the �absence of sound.�

Can you possible conjure up �the lack of the smell of soap�

We can�t really do it with our brains. We think in positives.

And now I am going to London and I expect something already. When I picture London I have an idea of what I am going to see, and in fact, it may be close�but it won�t be the same.

And when I picture people I think of them as I knew them. The sad thing is that in 40 years I will picture my old friends from high school timeless, captured in that one moment. I will assume they act the same, look the same, and think the same.

This will not be true.

And it just makes me wonder how humans are able to live in time, if our brains have such a hard time adapting�

I am leaving you now, and you will find that I will not be quite gone. I will be �replaced� and my friend will be giving you �not gump.� He will giving you entries that will not be mine, but will be like mine.

Whatever you expect will not be met, but it will be similar.

And I will be traveling.

Goodbye diaryland, for the now.

before - After

84 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.