Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2007-03-01 - 2:03 p.m.

Ode to a Wooden Old Friend



Before - After

I lost an old friend this weekend. It was a piece of furniture I�ve had for a very long time.

It was a TV stand, with a glass case underneath. When I was little, I got my first Nintendo � and I put it in this TV stand. Now, 2007, I�m saying goodbye.

I was given the stand and my Nintendo in 1987, twenty years ago. I purchased R.C. Pro Am � which was my very first Nintendo game. I played house and hours of video game back in the day, when my home work was mostly coloring animals and naming the four types of clouds.

I played games like duckhunt, Mario, and one of my person favorites, Genghis Khan. I also played Romance of the Three Kingdoms which was a superior game to Genghis Khan, but had a ferociously horrible game title which made me often tell people I was playing Genghis Khan.

I remember bringing it to my first apartment in Medford. The thing was on wheels and the floors in that apartment were slanted and the piece of furniture would roll towards the middle � which as one may guess, is an undesired feature. I had to build a wheel stopping mechanism to prevent this. Incidentally it was a piece of wood with rubber on the bottom. I�m MacGuiver. What can I say?

That wooden glass case was always something that meant more to me than I ever expected that it would. It harbored a sense of passing from my childhood into my adult life.

It traveled with my from my childhood home to my current home. And while that might not seem like much, its 20 year journey with me will be fondly remembered.

I don�t believe in giving things proper burials, animal, vegetable, or mineral, but I do believe that sometimes things are symbols to you, just because they�ve been a part of your scenery and your background for so long, and they shouldn�t be forgotten. When I saw it I wasn�t sad or upset, its time past, but it did remind me of my own life and from time to time that�s a tough thing to swallow.

So this one�s for the wooden TV stand, you served me well, you stood strong, and you reminded me of so many good times in my life.

before - After

37 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.