Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2005-12-01 - 4:36 p.m.

Update on my Mother



Before - After

My mom:

She had her surgery. She went back to work yesterday, and even though she was exhausted, it�s a really good sign.

They went in there and removed the linfonodes, and we got some really great news. They removed three linfonodes and none of them had any cancer in them. Normally, from the things that I have read, they remove and average of 20 linfonodes. She is still going to be meeting with the surgeon to discuss radiation treatment, but the doctor actually suggested that it looked so good; she might not half to go through radiation.

If you believe in fate or luck or divine intervention then my mom had a little of that. She had just gotten her checkup for breast cancer 2 months prior to discovering the cancer. This cancer developed between then and Thanksgiving. She felt a lump, and went in.

However the lump wasn�t cancer. It was related to a small reaction she had from her asthma. Instead they found a tiny, tiny lump in her breast, which turned out to be the earliest stages of breast cancer.

As far as it goes, cancer is like getting shot. There just no way you want it to happen to you or anyone you love. But while my mother didn�t dodge the bullet, it was just a flesh wound.

We still aren�t out of the woods, but it�s certainly some of the best news I have gotten this year. I just wanted to let everyone know.

My father and I are very happy and very lucky. I really want to extend my thanks to anyone who has gone through this or left me with some kind words. I am very appreciative.

before - After

29 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.