Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2004-02-06 - 1:17 p.m.

What I like about you



Before - After

.

I was having a conversation with someone about how I don�t really have a �song� that I relate to my ex- girlfriends.

You know what I am talking about? The �our song� phenomenon.

Like how Bobby and Jani listened to Paradise by the Dashboard light, and made out to it, and then skated around the roller rink holding hands as Meatloaf Sweated on the screens located at the corners of the skating waxed pix of middle school glory.

And then Bobby traded up and left Jani in the dirt, and now �their song� becomes the break-up-anthem that she listens to in her pajama�s head phones on, tissue in hand, and stuff animals lined up like they are going on a military operation of comforting.

Jani thinks about Bobby and how sweet he was and wonders how he could be happy with that big chested bitch.

Bobby hears it at the roller rink, with Debbi, his top heavy date, who makes skating look as hard as blow drying her hair with a public hand dryer. He takes one look at Debbi, -the dim look, the crooked smile- and wonders what he has done, as the guitar licks wail in the back ground.

He pauses. Debbi wipes the blood from her knees. He looks up at monitor, and mouths the words. He clenches his fist as he thinks of the time Jani took he bra off in her basement.

At the same time across town, Jani mouths the same words, as mascara runs down her face like the Kenyan running team escaping from a rabid lion, and wonders why she bothered to apply mascara in the first place.

This, my friends, is why I never wanted to have a �song�

It�s goddamn ridiculous.

But then, I thought. I forgot. I did have songs. I fucked up. I blocked it out.

The thing is, I remember trying to forbid my girlfriend from staking claim on that song. I would be like, �what if we break up, and you cry to this song everytime you hear it for the rest of your life.�

To which she would reply, tearing up, �You mean we aren�t going be together forever.�

*shit*

�Naw honey, I am talking about when I die first, cause men die sooner than women�

Trust me, it didn�t work.

But she wanted a song. I still refused. But she used her femine whiles to capture me in her girly game of sentiment. She got her song eventually.

I can�t remember what it was with one of my girlfriends, but I certainly DO remember what it was with the first one, and there is no way I am telling you cause I would rather die first.

But what I did have, and it my secrete, was songs that I had that made me think about those girls. See, for me, with most people there are just some moments frozen in my brain.

There are certain events and certain weird occurrences that are forever in my head that I can recall as if I were still there, trapped in that moment.

Once such thing is at the Winter Dance with my ex-girlfriend when �What I like about you� was playing. And this is forever the song I associate with her, and the image plays right along with it, nearly 9 years later. I mean, this girl and I went through breakup and then haven�t really interacted for a long time. But still, that song brings me back there instantly.

It�s so silly and so foolish that it would happen, and I tried so hard to prevent it from happening.

But the funny thing about the whole thing is: I was wrong.

It doesn�t make me sad.

It actually makes me kinda happy.

before - After

14 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.