Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-09-30 - 11:45 a.m.

The deal



Before - After

I am sick to my stomach today.

This deal is close to slipping through the cracks in my mind.

Albert is the landlord and he is worried. He is limiting things. Ready blew it last night and scared him by wanting to bring two cars to the apartment and park them.

TWO CARS!!!!

Albert kinda got all worried and sent me an email saying that he was going to limit the cars, which is bad news.

Then Ready insulted the paint job and carpeting.

I was like; ��Oh God Ready, don��t blow it, you must respect our landlord.��

He wasn��t overly impressed with Ready, and he was with John and myself. He disliked talking with Ready and so I think that he got nervous. Pretty nervous.

My job now, that rests squarely on my shoulders, is to negotiate with the man. I need to calm him and please him, while not compromising anything.

We want to get a lower rent. We want to get our parking. We are willing to help the man out. But we don��t want to move on the location until everyone is secure and safe with the situation.

I am looking at it from lots of angles. What does he want? Is it bottom line money for him as well? Would he give up money for security? What is he thinking? What is he hoping?

Why is the deal looking slightly sour? Though not that sour.

The last place John and I looked at was 400 dollars a person which was good. But this place includes off street parking, and free cable and internet which would be about 100 extra a month. So that��s equivalent to the 425 we will pay.

But less is more. Right?

In the end there are going to be compromises. Kevin wants the better room, but I think John will get it because he was say �� Kevin, I don��t have parking, hence I get first pick of room. I pick the room with the bright and sunny bay windows.

At least that��s how I think it should be done.

I suppose I am sorta running the show which is good and bad from my perspective. It��s good because I am more in control of what happens, and I am also more able to make sure that we are getting a good deal. Also it most likely gives me the ability to choose a good room.

However, it��s bad, because it��s nice to be the guy who says; Yes Gump, that��s a good deal and I am in, or No Gump; that isn��t a good deal and I am not in.

It��s tough. It��s making my stomach clench a little bit now.

There is a lot of pressure to get a good deal. The best deal. People on both sides need to feel that this is the best deal.

I must go.

More later�K

before - After

7 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.