Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-10-23 - 9:28 a.m.

Pearl Jam



Before - After

I am listening to Pearl Jam again. Everytime I listen to them I forget several things.

The first thing is how good they were. The second is how good they are.

I know that must sound like a confusing topic, but the Seattle grunge band sound that made me toss and turn at night filled with mounds of teenage angst is no longer. That music was at another level. It sung for the times. It connect with this feeling of disgust at the level of self indulgence that both music and lifestyles had taken.

Kerbang (whose been MIA), Pumpkin (who�s been MIA) , and myself were at a bar and we heard Nirvana�s Smells like Teen Spirit, and Kerbang noted how he had forgotten what a good song that was.

Well I still maintain that Pearl Jam is still an amazing band. Their new stuff is no where near the sullen, rocking cords of the TEN album. They have evolved.

I feel sad that this band doesn�t get more recognition. They were the quintessential band that I would hope people would love. See as much as I love Bruce Springstein and the way he supports the working man, you have to ask yourself how many blue collared men were at the Fenway Park show in August. Not too many.

Pearl Jam revolted against the establishment more than most Punk Bands every would. After winning award after award at the MTV music shows for Jeremy; Pearl Jam left MTV.

Why?

The band felt that the notion of turning what they considered a piece of art into a spectacle where Howard Stern had Luke Perry feel his butt was shameful. They were dedicated to producing quality. They had little interest in mass marketing themselves as a band.

And they evolved.

Then they realized that fans were paying far too much to see their shows. They felt that the high prices and outrageous surcharges were unneeded and hurting their fans in the wallet for no good reason. So they fought the monopoly giant in ticketmaster and tried to lower their prices to their own show. But, ticketmaster, who owns all the venues, didn�t allow them to lower their prices OR play at their venues under another ticket company.

But Pearl Jam stood alone, as grunge died. Kurt shot himself, Lollapalooza headlines mainstream groups, and Pearl Jam was kept from touring by an irritated ticketmaster.

How many other bands have fought to lower prices for you?

I respect Pearl Jam conviction, and more than that; I respect their music.

I will write something about my emotions later.

before - After

6 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.