Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-10-29 - 10:49 a.m.

Muggar



Before - After

The things that have been making me wonder lately are mostly related to things that have happened in my past.

On the way home from a movie the other night, Pumpkin and I were walking through Boston Common Park, where we spotted a mugger.

Actually we decided that there was a 70% chance that he was a mugger. The guy was hiding behind a tree in the park in an unlit alleyway secluded from the street. As we approached him I asked Pumpkin, �What do you think about this guy�s mugger potential?�

He replied, �45%� Which as we got closer went up. I mean this guy was eyeing Pumpkin and I up. The thing is that not only are we not small guys, but we outnumber him. The only think he would have is surprise and fear on his side.

But the �fear factor� was probably more in his court, as our conversation turned to the direction what muggers do. As we walked by this guy we were talking about how we would be more scared of a mugger with a knife than a gun, cause the guy with the gun probably doesn�t want to shoot you for your wallet. That�s a whole lot of trouble for little reward. The guy with the knife is much more willing to stab you.

However, we also talked about how we were, in the eyes of the mugger, like the big hit. We are the African plains equivalent to two juicy Zebras walking through the grasslands, with a hungry lion looking for dinner. However, in the end, the mugger probably wouldn�t have been able to topple the two of us, because he was smaller than us in the first place. He could get into more trouble than its worth.

Which lead us to the last part of the conversation. What do you do with the defeated mugger. Call the cops? Beat him down? Run?

I don�t know what I would do.

That, and an entry I read, reminded me of a time in college where a female friend of mine was hurt badly by a friend of a boyfriend.

When I arrive on the scene my only desire was to extract revenge. Whether it have been in the form of jailing or physical confrontation I felt this need for some level of justice to be served.

But my ambition was quelled by that of the female grouping. For some reason they all had decided that despite the attack, the evidence should covered up, and the guy should be allowed to leave. This is because the girl�s who boyfriend it was that committed this crime decided that he �didn�t mean it� and she protected him.

And then the other girls followed in suit. Each one of them, including the one that was attacked. In the end I was made to look kinda like the bad guy for trying to escalate the trouble.

Actually in the end, the guy who did the attacking left. He stole 300 dollars and the girls diamond earrings that her grandmother gave her. But he did leave her with an STD that prevented her from having children.

So I am afraid that the mugger that might have jumped me, just might have ended up with a little of that residual rage.

before - After

6 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.