Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-04-30 - 3:53 p.m.

Birth 6 Closing Time for Jack



Before - After

4/29/00

Closing night.

It��s the show anything goes. I am cast as Eliza J Whitney, which occurred about three months ago and this has been the biggest cake walk of a production. �� For me. All I have to do is not loose my gray bag with yellow trim. Included in the bag:

1 750ml bottle of Jack Daniel��s

2 Rubber bands for holding sleaves

1 small bottle of baby powder for flushed face and white hair.

4 shotglasses

1 Disposable Camera

2 Scripts

1 Sombrero

1 wild and crazy Hawaiian shirt

2 belts

The most important thing is the Jack Daniel��s bottle because that��s a set piece; and it has liquor. It��s about half coke and half rum. The director told me to have all coke, and no rum (impling that I could ACT drunk without BEING drunk) but I��m not listening to him.

Nope, instead I had a steady helping of whiskey as both me and my character became more and more drunk as the night went on. I am about to go on for my final scene in the first act, I am pretty plowed. I am thankful that I don��t have to sing or dance tonight, but I would do it really drunk if I did. In fact, a little more of this concoction and I just might.

It��s not actually in my hand. On stage it was stolen by another character. He��s gonna leave it on the top of the ship, where I will retrieve it, in a rather pointless scene. Not tonight though.

I have decided to make up lines tonight. All of them. I don��t think I said anything that I was suppose to. The audience loved it. I am funnier than campy 20��s humor. At least I think I am right now. The director is gonna kill me at intermission. I should hide underneath the stage. There might be rats there though.

Showtime.

I begin to stumble. Onto the stage. I fall up the steps. The audience laughs. I do too. The fall was planned, not the laugh.

I climb to the highest point of the stage and crawl over to the Jack bottle. I am suppose to say ��whatza wherza whoza there?,�� as if I recognized the bottle as a person. I am the only one on stage, but no one seems to get this joke. Hell, I don��t even get it.

Instead I lunge for the bottle and raise it into the air, as if it were my baby, and then I squeeze it tight, delivering the line, ��I��ll never let go Jack, I��ll never let go.��

Just as a background; Anything goes is on a boat and I am at the hull of the ship (or whatever the fuck the front is). This joke, works perfectly.

I actually got a standing and clapping laughs. I was shocked. Apparently no one saw this coming.

The director, at intermission did not kill me. He said, ��Why didn��t you change all your lines before?��

I wanted to say ��Because I am an unfunny hack writer who is bombed for no good reason and never wrote a good story let alone a musical?��

I said, ��I dunno?��

Anyway, this was my best show in my seven years of acting/singing. People laughed at me without me even doing anything after that. I came out for the dance scene, briefly. It worked. This is the only show I have ever done I can watch on tape.

At the end of the night they gave out awards. I got the ��Best Supporting Actor Award.�� I was very pleased. I put it up in my room right in front of the Virgin Mary Statue in my room. The award was only there until I gave it out next year, but I was proud, if but for a moment, that I was funny.

before - After

2 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.