Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-11-20 - 12:02 p.m.

Artist in da House



Before - After

My Roomates are going to kill me.

I am far to pro-active with decorating the apartment.

I�ll tell you, for my 300th entry, what I have done.

First of all I posted an ad. I was looking for starving artists looking to sell some of their work to decorate a apartment.

And OH BOY � there are some hungry artists.

We have this guy, Rick, An oil artist who is willing to sell some of his oil paintings at far below market value to us.

At first he gave the price list of about 1000 dollars for his work. Then he told me he could mark that down.

Then even further.

Finally he gave me an email that said the following � That he wouldn�t be insulted by disclosing my budget and that he could totally work something out for our style because he really likes the idea of people have his work.

Then I talked to a Joshua who was a new artist from Berkeley. He says he usually lists his artwork between 500-2500 dollars, but would be more than willing to drop it down for work.

He actually gave me his resume. This guy has done some really great things, and he won awards for his work too.

And he�s emailing me HIS resume.

For God�s sake I am a freaking economist, not some art connoisseur.

This kid won �Best Upcoming Artist� in both Boston and New England. He does modern art work with glass. He reversely paints one side of the glass and then frames it. He has some good pieces, though I imagine they aren�t to everyone�s liking.

Then I have another guy who does these kinda retro doodle in paint that are really neat. He offered to do personal ones for me for an extremely low cost. I won�t even say.

Then about three girls contacted me. One looks really promising as she has done work with cars, appliances, and other weird objects that are not normally part of an artist pallet.

There was another who offered to do a mosaic.

And then finally there was this one kid named Leif, who is a unemployed art student who offered to do a mural in our apartment at cost.

Yep�cost of materials.

I am totally going to check out his stuff too.

But like I said�my roommates are going to kill me. They are going to come home some night with like 20 artist in the house painting the place up for 20 bucks a pop. Plus beer.

I haven�t agreed to anything yet, but I find this all very interesting.

So the question of the day is:::

Do you think this is a good idea?

before - After

23 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.