Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-12-30 - 9:25 a.m.

A Glimpse into a Future I would never wish upon anyone.



Before - After

I have been kicked in the crotch, hit by a car, fallen off a motorcycle, broken my arm, had my chest scraped off by sand and asphalt, been knocked out, hit by a bike messenger, and beat up in the 99 pub.

But nothing has hurt like what I did when I was 17. Oh sure, you might be thinking�what the hell could he possibly say that�s going to be worse than the time I fell off a bicycle and had the entire front of my chest burned off by friction.

Well my friends�its love.

And not; �oh I�m so upset that love left me�

I am talking about what love makes you do.

My girlfriend had just broken up with me, and I was suffering from a big time dumping. I was dumped like no man had ever been dumped before (at least that�s how I felt).

So there was a popular movie at the time.

Oh yes�

And you see, in the time of grunge rock, love songs weren�t so good. There were no good female artists, there we no real good love ballads. I was forced to cry to Don Henley and Green Day. That�s right folks I connected with Green Day.

But this isn�t the pain to which I am referring to. Oh no. My pain is much deeper.

You see, I did something very foolish. I emailed her. Now this wasn�t like today when you kids had it so easy.

I got on my dad�s computer, dial-up compuserve, accessed my email. Waited for my 1200 BAUD modem to connect (the lights flashed from side to side) as I wrote the lyrics to a song that I connected to.

At the end, I wrote

�why can�t we just be together. We love each other. Why?!�

That sentence pains me so much, but its dwarfed compared to the song that I wrote down before that. I listened to this song over and over, getting every word right. Every part of my deperation love letter had to be perfect. Only this song, and my true words could win back this girl.

The movie was: The BodyGuard

The Song: I have nothing

Don't make me close one more door

I don't wanna hurt anymore

Stay in my arms if you dare

Or must I imagine you there

Don't walk away from me...

I have nothing, nothing, nothing

If I don't have you, you, you, you.

You see through, right to the heart of me

You break down my walls with the strength of you love

I never knew love like I've known it with you

Will a memory survive, one I can hold on to

[repeat (chorus)] but do it with a tear in your eye.

Reading this now, I feel as if I am going to die. I actually puked a year after writing this out of sheer embarrassment, when I found a printed out copy that she returned to me in school the next day.

I will never tell you what that said, but let us just say, we did not get back together.

So to all the young hearts out there: Quoting a song to win back a girl is like sending your Dad over to your honey�s house to smooth things out. The only thing you will get is embarrassment that will make your life seem as worthless as the sweatbands in footloose.

~Capt Smooth.

before - After

20 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.