Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-08-28 - 12:01 p.m.

24 Songs



Before - After

24 songs

One song per year of your life. Hence if you are 50, you will be here all day.

This entry is one that I try to avoid in some ways, because it�s about musical taste. Thanks to Tudor-Diva who provided this idea. I try to avoid this kind of entry cause you will make fun of me for my musical taste.

What the entry is suppose to be is 24 one songs I like. Instead I am listing 31 songs that meant something in my life. I will talk about the song and its moment in my life. A slight change, but I think it will be good and more creative.

So without further adieu, here they are:

1. �Pastoral� - Beethoven: When I was younger and couldn�t sleep, my parents would grow very worried. However, my mother read a book about calming me with music and this song became my lullaby. It�s the most relaxing and happy song I have listen to and I can remember how beautiful it is even now. I have often wondered why songs today aren�t nearly as long, and I realize it�s mostly due to our short attention spans and commercialization. I also love Beethoven because his music can be played by so many different people, and yet it�s his, and not considered a cover. That�s pretty timeless.

2. �Cherry� ~ Neil Diamond: I was at Dingus� house and his friends Kris and Bill were explaining Neil Diamond to me. I didn�t really get him. I just remember being fascinated by this strange 70�s sex symbol and wondering how this man came about. Kris had a tape (not a CD) and put it in, and played Cherry. Then he played a song that he called �Not Cherry� which he claimed sound just like Cherry. I was enthralled.

3. �One More Time� ~ Daft Punk: For some reason during the Patriots Superbowl season Dingus and I got into the habit of playing this song when ever the patriots would do something good. We would play it loud and dance around the room saying things like �in your face� and �what�s up now?� In the snow game they won with the most amazing kick ever in football history, we played it so loud and danced, and Dingus jumped through the door. Then I would shake him and rough him up lovingly. I would say things like �this can�t be happening� and �can you fucking believe that.� Both Dingus and I both will always remember the fucking amazing year of football whenever we year that song.

4. �Turtle Power� ~M.C. Hammer : Who knew that four stupid turtles could make me cry. For the complete story just click this. So embarrassing, so true.

5. �Another Brick in the Wall� ~ Pink Floyd: I didn�t get into Pink Floyd until college. My friend Trout was into them in High School along with the Almon Brothers. I thought he just liked the music cause it was Pot smoking music, but on his and Hillson�s recommendation I started to really get into Pink Floyd. It really taps into depression and such. Brick in the wall was an amazing song. I heard it on a tape that Hillson had mixed for me. It was the first song and I knew this band was Gold. It�s the kinda thing that makes drug seem like a really good idea.

6. �Don�t Stop Believing� ~ Journey: I never knew that music could make a grown man cry. Journey is an amazing band, and this is an amazing song. It�s the sort of song that makes you want to become homeless and playing your electric guitar in the street. There used to be a site devoted to this one song, but sadly it was taken down. The best line in the song deals with the description of heaven. You know what I am talking about! Hold on to that feeling.

7. �Dare� ~ Stan Bush: The song that rocked my childhood. As Optimus Prime stated, �All we need is a little energon and a lot of luck,� the 80�s guitar riffs we blasted into my head by a man named Stan Bush. This movie wrote awe inspiring songs of valor and courage and my eight year ass was all over it. It was like heaven in a whammy bar. You can win if you dance. ; )

8. �Total Eclipse of the Heart� ~Bonnie Tyler: I am such a freaking sucker for this song. I sing to it every time, and the video was so messed up. It�s a really great song, and they played it at every dance. Girls would hold hands and dance to it, pulling each other back and forth shaking their heads in a �no� motion as they sang. It was really silly. You know what I am saying. They sing to each other with the heads shaking back and forth, smiling from ear to ear in the pastel dresses. What was that? I should try it sometime, but I just don�t think it will be the same. Plus when I sing it with my friends it�s in a really high falsetto voice.

9.�Can�t Get Next to You� ~ Earth, Wind, and Fire: As a side note:Water was kicked out of the band for Heart, who overdosed on drugs, leaving us with EWF. I had this song on my CD player in my car, and it was the first time Shelly sang in front of me and it was very cute. She just shook it and sang. It made me very happy. She also listened to is six times. Then we saw a movie, and we came back out and she listened to it six more times. I guess the rest of the CD sucked.

10.�Dancing in the Dark� ~ Bruce Springsteen: The Boss puts his soul into singing. You have to love any person who gives themselves completely to the freaking song. He�s not super talented, but he just has great music about living life. I remember that this song is just great, and I used to dance to it in my living room with head phones on. It�s fantastic.

11. �Outtathaway� ~ The Vines: My obsession with Internet kittens begins. It�s a great song with these amazing cats that dance for me. If you see this how could you resist the lure of the internet cats. I really believe that it was a forming moment of my adult life. It�s when I knew the internet was a place where dreams come true. Plus it got me liking the vines. I like the latest punk stuff that has come out of England. Plus that little kitten is just so angry.

12. �Rock your Body� ~ J. Timberlake: The very first time I heard it I knew that he would be the next Michael Jackson. The music is just so good that even people who hate pop like this song. Sure, a few people rebel, and good I like punk too, but this song rocks my socks. I was watching TRL and felt jipped as it was cut off, cause apparently viewers can�t pay attention for a whole three minutes. However I have noticed that just as I am about to flip to an another station the video ends. It makes me so angry that MTV knows that. Damn you TV surveys. DAMN YOU!!!

13.�Dyre� Maker� ~ Led Zepplin: The song that was playing when my ex-girlfriend hooked up for the first time after we had broken up. It was hotter and heaver than anytime when we were dating and I remember that this song was pulsing in the background. It was also the first time we seriously got it on in her room. He two twin sisters were right next door. They must have heard the whole thing. It was really a fantastically bad idea. Yet whenever I hear that song, I can�t help but think about that moment. The band has far better songs than this one, but for some reason this particular one stuck with me.

14. �Army� ~ Ben Folds Five: Riding up to Maine to visit Dingus� new pad up there, Kerbang put on a disc that he called genius. He was right. With this amazing track of angst and regret Ben really captured a feeling that I think Kerbang connected with. I really enjoyed that trip up to the seaside of Maine to visit Dingus and his �new� girlfriend. We slept in a small tiny room that smelled like feet on a mattress on the ground. We stocked the fridge with so much beer that it would take a week for the three of us to drink it. It was time of happiness and fun. This song makes me happy, and now I can really appreciate what Ben is talking about.

15. �Overjoyed� ~ Stevie Wonder: Wedding Song, most likely. I really don�t want to say much more.

16 .�Ever After� ~ Into the Woods: There is something to be said for leading the whole strange in song. As you can imagine I loved all eyes being on me, and I have always had fun with this song. If you ever get the chance to perform on stage grab it. You will regret it otherwise. That�s the song I sang to end the first act, and I loved the feeling on stage of the audience being confused that the show seemed like it was ending, while all the while they were only halfway through.

17. �A Little Fall of Rain� ~Les Miserable: Without over doing the showtunes, its my favorite song that I will never ever come near performing. It�s really a beautiful song and a great moment, as the girl dies for some one who never really loved her. It�s such a good musical, and though I know that�s its about dirty French people, and a revolution that never really happened, it�s great. I guess it would be like if there was a musical done about the Spanish American war. People would be like; I don�t remember what the fighting was about, but I sure did like the music.

18.� Eye of the Tiger � ~Survivor: If this isn�t the greatest song ever written than I don�t know what is. It personifies competitive sports and is the anthem of anyone who has ever felt like they are going into battle. I feel that it�s probably the same feeling that a professional athlete gets when he hears the roar of the crowd, their hopes hanging on his movements. If Stallone could punch meat on hangers and make it seem cool then you know that there was something else involved in the movie capturing the essence of competition.

19.�You�ve Got the Touch� ~ Stan Bush: �You�ve never walked, you�ve never run.� �You never Bend, you never break� �It�s in the Blood, its in the will; it�s in the mighty hands of steel.� Listen, when you capture the moment of death of your childhood hero, (Optimus prime) with a amazing rock anthem, its going to stick with you. I cried when I first heard it, and I cheer when I hear it now. If I were granted an obscene amount of money I would remake a truck like Optiums Prime and play this song on the bullhorn.

20. �Black� ~ Pearl Jam: Such a sad and heartfelt song, that it can still move me now. That band has stood the test of time and keeps pumping out amazing work, but I still don�t think it will ever be able to top the popularity and ground breaking work that they did on Ten. Black was my favorite track on the album, but I feel that is cutting the album too short. It was my favorite album of all time.

21. �Smells Like Teen Spirit� ~ Nirvana: It wasn�t the most influential song for nothing. It really grabbed the horror show of the soulless eighties and ate it. It made us remember that people weren�t happy and weren�t satisfied. It made me remember that music wasn�t about something to plug your ears with, but rather can be something to express feelings with. I respected the impact of this song, though I feel that Pearl Jam was the better band. Nirvana was more edgy, while Pearl Jam was more talented. Kurt symbolized giving up, while Eddie symbolize fighting commercialization as he shunned MTV at his height, and battle ticket master in the courts. This song reminds me that these times were times of personal and social enlightenment.

22. �Invisible Touch� ~ Genesis: I went to visit a close friend at college. He and I had been friends for a while and I was looking forward to seeing him. We were in his room and I started drinking straight whiskey, while he and this lady friend when to the woods to smoke. When they returned he actually tripped out. His roommate who was in love with Genesis popped in this song, while my friend laid on his back thinking he was a beetle and couldn�t turn over. He also admitted to loving this song. All the time he was detaching from reality I was becoming a sullen and somber drunk. I was getting mad, as we raced to a party and he was crying out loud that he was a homosexual witch who was going to be put to death. After the short lived part, I had become an angry drunk for some reason that night and tried to sleep in the room next to his, until he found me and we had a weird, not very sober talk. In the morning I think all was forgiven, except of course, his roommate never let him forget professing his love for Genesis.

23. �Hidden Track at the end of No Code� ~ Pearl Jam: After the first time I my girlfriend and I were intimate, she felt slightly confused, slightly guilty, and very uncomfortable. To ease her discomfort I decided to do a naked Castanets dance in the dorm room to this song. For some reason I felt it was the my best option. I feel that most people would have been freaked out, but she said that it was very amusing and helped her realize that things are just very weird sometimes. Plus I was �very cute, and very funny.� I should have been embarrassed, but I wasn�t. I am now though.

24. �Number 41� ~ Dave Matthews Band: In High school this was a really important song for me. You know when something just fits. It just works. That was this song. It�s like when you read something and it just flows with your thoughts, or you dance with someone, and you move at the same speed. It�s like when two people can talk and not interrupt each other�s conversation, that�s perfection. Perfection was this song that could tap into the loneness and heartbreak in my life. At that point in my life it was the most meaningful and most capturing song. Most people think that only hardcore punk or metal can really capture angst and alienation, but this song did it for me.

before - After

10 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.