Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-05-30 - 12:57 a.m.

Time for a Surprise



Before - After

I think that the best thing about living is the excitement for the future. Anticipation really keeps me going sometimes. I always like to have something to look forward to. Maybe to a fault.

See I am a planner. I know the day I am going to retire. I know my income on that day. I know how much money I will have when I retire.

I do this so that I can calculate for the unexpected. I think it�s referred to as Actuary disease. That�s planning to a fault. Know the expected time that you are going to die.

I estimate when my friends are going to die. Incidentally, Sam will be living the longest, and Jeffery the shortest.

But these are just figures. Not reality. And that�s where anticipation comes in. The unpredictable randomness of this world is what makes some people cower in fear and others beam with delight.

There is a girl at my work who won�t fly in a plance because she is afraid of terrorist attacks. She turned down a virtually free trip to Santa Monic because of this fear. She fears she will be on that plane.

Vik wants more surprises in life, to shake things up. To create change, to excite him. To make his day and life more interesting.

Kerbang likes stability. He fears change. He fears it even more than I do. I think that he plans and is more risk adverse than most of our friends. He is least likely to be swindled however.

I guess I like to think of it this way. Some people like to know what they are getting for Christmas before they open the presents. Some people just like the surprise.

Neither is right. But, neither is wrong.

It�s all about gratification. Some people can�t stomach passage of time. They only understand now. There are more and more of these people these days.

I think that humans need to understand time more. Sometimes I think about time too much, but then sometimes I think that�s all I should think about.

before - After

0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.