Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-06-09 - 12:05 p.m.

Awakening 8 Disagreement



Before - After

11/11/81

I am an only child. I have realized this since I evolved far beyond my stuffed rabbit brother. You see I can now move around and speak a little. I am becoming something. I learn lessons and I can manipulate my environment.

My biggest priority is food. I love food. I hate crapping my pants, but I like food. Someday I think I will learn the exact relationship between the two. I have learned that when I cry, I get attention and when I want food I point. I like crackers. I will point at the cupboard and say �Cwaquer� and then I will receive a �cwaquer.�

Unfortunately I have not learned of temperance. In fact three times now I have eaten enough to induced �cwaquer� vomit. This is not good. That�s like face poop.

Mother had told me, �Gumpy you have to only eat what you can handle. Otherwise no more crackers.�

This sounded like, �Gwumpy, blah bloo blue blah bliz blah blan blooke. Blothther no cwaqers�

Of course mother loved me and was certain to give me my endless supply of leavened wheat. All I need to do was raise my small baby paw and point at the cabinet, and say �cwaquer.� It really is elementary.

But today things in my world changed.

I followed my own perfected instructions. Raise my hand, said my word. And wait.

Now sometimes mother is unable to hear me. The water is running or the phone is ringing. I can understand. No one is perfect. I calmly repeated.

Nothing.

I said that mother had one more chance. One last chance to get me my treat. I would wait for eye contact. Then I got it; I pointed and said, �Cwaquer,� in quite a puff I might add. She had to have understood me, and she certainly saw me, what was wrong with her.

And then she said it. The worst word I had ever heard.

�No.�

No? No? I heard this word before. She used it on the dog and cat. She used it on father, but not me. The word wasn�t for me. I CAN�T BELIEVE THAT SHE WOULD SAY THAT WORD TO ME!!!!

***The Crying fit begins***

Now I get my fighting spirit from my mother. So it isn�t surprising that this fit, though of epic proportions, would not get me my cracker. She just kept looking at me and saying, �No.� I would cry louder. And louder. AND LOUDER.

But a baby�s lungs have their limit. There was no more squeal left in my tires, but mother didn�t budge. I knew that I had to take matters into my own hands.

I began to crawl to the hallway near our kitchen. I reached the narrow hallway and lined up with the door. I thought about my need for the cracker and knew that this had to be done. And then I went to town.

My mother later describes the sound as a book trying to be nailed into drywall. It was a thumping and denting noise. I began ramming my head into the door as hard as I could. My mother got to me as quick as she could, but it was already too late.

I had done damage myself. Being a baby my bones were not completely formed, and because of that I did in fact dent my skull. It�s small unnoticeable dent that would remain with me for the rest of my life. I can�t see it with my eyes, but only feel it. It pushed part of the skull underneath another resulting in a tiny bump hidden by my hair. My mom was very upset, but did give me a cracker for the debacle. I, unfortunately, puked from the cracker.

The dent remains to remind me of two things:

The day I first became aware of the word �no.�

That I will always find a way to get what I want

Neither of which I truly understand the value of.

before - After

0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.