Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-05-28 - 12:05 p.m.

Abovebelief



Before - After

Strange things happen

It�s interesting because when something new happens; you know something that has never happened to you before, you are just stunned for a minute. Then you adjust, make sense of it and move on.

But that�s where superstition strikes. That being the belief that doing certain arbitrary things can control the randomness of the future.

Nomar walks up and down the five steps of the dug out five times before taking the field. He straightens his gloves out the same way before every game. He believes that this control of what would otherwise be random steps, will help him hit the ball and win the game. A man who name is his father names backwards because an dream the man had must have some strange beliefs. He must see the world differently.

That leads me to this story. This is true and it happened today to someone on the train that I know.

She woke up this morning to the sounds of meowing. Now she lives on the second floor of an apartment, and has a separate door that she keeps locked.

The meowing coming from the other side of the door. When she opened the door, she saw a frightening site. The meowing was coming from a cat, but no ordinary cat.

This was a black cat with dark green eyes. It was jet black with no spots, and probably the most disturbing thing was its size. It was huge. The cat, standing was about knee height. It burst into the house and jumped one the bed and laid there.

She said that the cat seem to know this place, though she had lived there for four years. She took a picture of the cat, which is how I know its size and eye color. The giant cat, just decided to somehow get up to the second floor and make itself at home.

She eventually managed to usher the cat out of the apartment and back to the street, but it did not want to leave. It just sat in front of the door waiting. She has never seen it before, and I wonder if it will be there tonight.

No collar, no tag, but a well fed cat, that was looking for a home.

I got kind of sad for the cat, and myself. I can�t imagine what the cat was thinking, but it decided that she was the place that was going to take care of her. I don�t know if the cat was picking a partner or a soul mate to live with, but it decided that it wanted a home. She wasn�t going to be able to provide one.

She was also scared because a giant black cat is a bad omen. Its not only bad luck but also closely linked with death. She thinks that something bad is going to happen to her now in the near future. She called her relatives to check for sudden deaths.

I just think it was a strange cat. The only bad was being that she was allergic.

Which got me thinking about my superstitions and patterns. What did I believe in? What did I do because it brought me comfort and reassurance?

I could think of a few things, but I had a problem. I was too bred to not buy into the social normality. I am too inquisitive to develop a unique superstition.

I am too middle class to believe in anything.

before - After

0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.