Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
Google
Web gumphood.diaryland.com

2003-05-27 - 4:55 p.m.

race



Before - After

This weekend was not a total bust. See, it rained almost the entire time, but on Sunday, it let up, and for about a three hour period the sun came out.

We were at the beach and the weather was still chilly despite the brief respite of sun. We had drank to much, Shelly in particular, the night before. She fell down and hurt herself, and I just went to bed early on Saturday.

The group was going bowling on Sunday morning, but Shelly and I remained in bed, because I believe my words were, �Bowling. Fuck that.� Shelly later concurred.

We woke up late.

Did I mention that in order of things that I hate about nature. Number One is sand, number two is the sun, and number three is salt water?

That being said; Shelly and I headed to the beach. There is only one time in my life I like all three of those things, and that when I am with Shelly. She loves them so much that it makes me love them.

She and I walked across the beach towards the water. There weren�t many people out today, and the beach was pretty empty. Shelly was like a little kid, and took her sandals and sock off and rubbed her feet in the sand an scrunched them and said, �not yet.�

And then she ran towards the wet sand, by the ocean.

The waves were huge. The biggest I have ever seen on the East Coast because the storms were just off sea. It was the tornado weather that had hit the midwest. I, in socks and sneakers, walked behind her, watching her in her happiness.

As I paused, right at the edge of wet and dry sand, I noticed that it was low tide, and Shelly was already dancing with the waves; Dodging the ice cold Atlantic water as it gushed towards her.

She was so far out. The tide was really low. I wanted to yell, but I didn�t. I just decided that my sneakers could handle the wet sand, and I walk towards her, because I wanted to be near her.

As I watched her, she looked so small compared to the ocean. It made me sad for some reason that someone so beautiful could look so small. The waves were just so big.

She was so excited to see me coming because she didn�t think that I would have come out onto the wet sand, and knew I wouldn�t want to take my shoes off and touch the sand. She gave me a big hug, and told me how happy she was that we didn�t go bowling.

After a little playing near the water we walked along the ocean as the tide started to come in. The water here leaks from the wet sand at the top and pours back to the ocean in little streams and rivers on the beach. They are formed naturally in the sand. We would leap these rivers as we made our way along.

We came to one unique one with big tide pools that had been formed. Shelly began digging with her foot. When I asked her why, she said that she just felt the water wanted to escape. I helped her. We dug an alternate escape for the water and it began to drain from the pools. She did most the digging. I did most the suggesting.

She called me the foreman.

When we were finished, and the water flowed properly, I suggest that I go get some driftwood and that we race it down the river. She liked that idea.

So I did. And we did, and we tried to race them, but the kept getting stuck and we would guide them along, and make sure that they made their way to the sea. Her piece was a little bigger and was blackish, while mine was lighter brown. After about five minutes they made there way into the ocean.

After that we met up with the rest of the group and headed to the Karaoke Bar. We sang and drank until they closed the place down. Sunday was the best day of the trip and for me, what made the whole thing worth doing.

Someone asked me today how I know that Shelly and I are in love. I said that I really didn�t know, since that love is one of the more confusing things in this world, because its such and emotional emotion.

But I do know that when we raced, I was the person who watched and guided her black piece of wood, and she was the person who guided my piece though the sandy river. We both wanted the other�s to make it.

And that�s got to say something.

before - After

126 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com






Locations of visitors to this page





This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.